Spicy Green Skillet for Breakfast, Brunch, or Brinner

You know what rules about being an adult? I can eat whatever I want, whenever I want. This has meant chocolate cake for dinner on more than one occasion…how can I resist when I can make one in the microwave in five minutes? Breakfast for dinner has become another favorite. I’m not sure why breakfast is so much more delightful when eaten at 7:00pm than 7:00am, but a stack of cocoa surprise pancakes or a heaping skillet of vegetables, chorizo, and eggs will always be go-to comfort foods.

spicy green paleo breakfast skillet

Since I’ve committed to completing a January Whole30, a month of squeaky clean Paleo eating, my very favorite chocolate cake is neither in the cards nor on my plate. Instead, I’m redefining treats and finding joy in every meal. Ordinary ingredients become exciting when I know that the meal I am creating will keep me energized and satisfied for hours.

This heaping skillet is packed with protein, vegetables, and healthy fat to meet that very need. Chorizo is one of my favorite ingredients (see, you CAN have treats on the Whole30!) and gives a nice flavor the mix of eggs and green vegetables. The bite of sautéed jalapeños provides a contrast to the creamy inside of crackling sweet potato homefries, which I highly recommend trying as a standalone side dish in another breakfast. Once you pick your basics, swapping ingredients to match what you have on hand is a no-brainer. A spicy green skillet is a quick and easy Paleo, Whole30-friendly meal no matter what time of day you choose to indulge.

spicy green paleo skillet

Spicy Green Skillet – 1 hearty serving (double recipe and use a larger skillet for 2+)
Total time: 20-25 minutes

1-2 tablespoons coconut oil
½ medium sweet potato, chopped into ½-in. pieces
¼ cup chopped yellow onion
¼ cup thinly sliced green onion
½ jalapeño pepper, seeds and white ribs removed, chopped (about 2 tablespoons)
1 cup loosely packed baby spinach
¼ teaspoon ground oregano leaves
salt & pepper
4 ounces chorizo
2 large eggs
½ avocado, chopped into 1 in. pieces

Melt coconut oil in a 10″ cast iron skillet over medium heat. When the skillet is hot, add chopped sweet potato and cook until tender, flipping only a few times so the sweet potato forms a crunchy, caramelized outer layer, about 4-6 minutes. Remove to a plate.

Add more oil if needed, then add vegetables and season with oregano, salt, and pepper. Cook until onion is translucent, then remove to plate with sweet potatoes. Again, add a bit more oil if needed, then crumble chorizo into the skillet and saute until cooked through. Remove to plate.

In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs until scrambled, then pour them into the skillet. When the eggs have almost finished cooking, add the rest of the cooked ingredients to the pan and scramble. The skillet is finished once the eggs have set. Add avocado and enjoy!

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Breakfast, Gluten-Free, Main Dish, Paleo/Primal, Weeknight Dinner and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Spicy Green Skillet for Breakfast, Brunch, or Brinner

  1. BethW says:

    I will absolutely be making this! Yum! Yay for whole30!

  2. this looks like all the things I love in one skillet – you’re right, being an adult is awesome 🙂

  3. Carrie says:

    Yum. This is a big pan full of so many of my favorite ingredients. Wish that I had it for dinner tonight!

  4. love love your blog. came your way through my best friend Beth’s instagram 🙂 she did Whole30 and absolutely loved it.

    i’m vegan at the moment but could absolutely see myself swapping in tofu for the chorizo and eggs. skillets are the best and most satisfying breakfasts in my book.

    • So glad you found my blog! I really enjoying coming up with recipes that are both vegan and Paleo- I have several friends who are vegan, and it seems like we can share pretty much any side dish, but it’s the main course/protein that can be more difficult. Hope you enjoy the recipes!

  5. Anham Mahna says:

    Where does one get Paleo-friendly chorizo?

  6. Pingback: 54 Amazing Paleo Breakfasts to Start Your Morning Right | Paleo Grubs

Comments are closed.