Big News

Dear foodies,

Sharing a meal has always been my favorite way to get to know someone. My friends tease me for using the expression “breaking bread”, but I believe there’s something powerful about experiencing the same tastes and the conversation that naturally arises over a meal.

That’s why Humble Foodie has been so special. Kerry and I started this blog in October 2011 as a way to share recipes we love. Since then I’ve been posting recipes and the occasional thoughts or DIY project, and it’s grown into something bigger. Humble Foodie has become a community built on a shared love of food- what a delicious place to be.

But I want to share more. I want to swap recipes and test them out together, but I also want to write about experiences and invite others to join me. I’m looking forward to a big move, some travel, time with family, and exploring places new and old. That’s something I want to write about. And throughout it all, I want to focus on the idea of home–a feeling and a community that you can build in any physical place.

I’m excited to announce that all of this will be taking place on my new blog: Jaybird. If you want to join the new adventure (and keep receiving new recipes!), add the new blog to your feed or subscribe by email. You can also like Jaybird on Facebook and follow on Twitter or Pinterest for even more updates.

And don’t worry–if you’ve pinned or bookmarked recipes on Humble Foodie, they’ll stay right here for the time being. For a preview of the recipes you’ll find at Jaybird, come and see!

Thanks for reading Humble Foodie, and I hope you’ll join me at Jaybird.

Until we mix again!

Alicia

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Home, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Big News

  1. Congrats on the move. I love what you say about home – it’s part of what I’m mulling over so often as well. Finding myself and making a family and home of my own. Cheers!

  2. Such an exciting move! Congrats!

    • Alicia says:

      Thanks Kenley! You’ve seen me through it all and the first aliciajaybird.com website…thanks for sticking around! 🙂

  3. I love it! So excited for the new digs. And I also love that phrase, “breaking bread.” It’s what “companions” comes from…the people with (con) whom you break bread (pan). Cool, right?

    • Alicia says:

      That is so cool! I love learning about the origins of words. I will be working that fact into conversation for the next week. 🙂

  4. Love this! Already have your new URL saved on my reader 🙂

Comments are closed.