Cake Batter Chocolate Bark

Wondering how to say “Merry Christmas” to many without breaking the bank? Homemade baked goods, of course! I decided to make goodie bags for my students in anticipation of the holidays, but with so many tantalizing recipes showing up on my favorite cooking blogs, I had a hard time choosing what to make first. Eventually I decided to start with something that’s simple and classic, but with a fun twist: cake batter chocolate bark! It really could not be easier to make this special treat. Looks like the holidays are here…

Cake Batter Chocolate Bark

6 ounces dark chocolate
12 ounces white chocolate
3 teaspoons white cake mix (I used Funfetti)
Rainbow sprinkles or other festive toppings

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Melt dark chocolate in the microwave in 20 second intervals, stirring in between. When chocolate has liquefied, pour it onto the parchment paper and smooth it over the sheet with a spatula. Freeze for 10 minutes.

Melt white chocolate, again in 20 second intervals. When white chocolate has liquefied, stir in cake mix until smooth and let sit for three minutes. Remove the baking sheet with frozen chocolate from freezer and pour white chocolate mixture on top. Smooth with a spatula and immediately cover with sprinkles. Freeze for 20 more minutes.

Remove sheet from the freezer and break bark into chunks. Try not to eat it all at once! Keep refrigerated until ready to serve.

Recipe from How Sweet It Is via Sweetapolita

Don't forget to offer Santa a bite. Ho ho ho!

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Desserts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cake Batter Chocolate Bark

  1. Anna says:

    OH. MY. GAWD. This looks unspeakably delicious. Clearly, it was a SIGN that funfetti cake mix was on sale for $1 at the grocery store last night! Looks like I’ll be using it sooner rather than later…

  2. Danni D. says:

    You were right! This is one amazingly delicious and simple recipe!! I made it over the holidays for a family Christmas dinner as one of the desserts and my brother wouldn’t let me leave the house without wrapping up about half of the servings for himself to eat at home later. Hehe. Also, parchment paper for this recipe = one great idea. Even though I had to go out and hunt some down, it was totally worth all the cleanup I saved myself in the end. Thanks, Humble oodies! ❤

  3. Danni D. says:

    You were right! This is one amazingly delicious and simple recipe!! I made it over the holidays for a family Christmas dinner as one of the desserts and my brother wouldn’t let me leave the house without wrapping up about half of the servings for himself to eat at home later. Hehe. Also, parchment paper for this recipe = one great idea. Even though I had to go out and hunt some down, it was totally worth all the cleanup I saved myself in the end. Thanks, Humble Foodies! ❤

Comments are closed.