Happy New Year!

Happy New Year from The Humble Foodies!

We love our new aprons!

We are looking forward to continuing to share our culinary adventures with our friends and family (and our millions of internet fans, of course!) in the New Year. After spending the holidays at home, we feel refreshed and relaxed. We both had plenty of time to spend in the kitchen testing new recipes and perfecting old ones. In addition to our collection of recipes, Santa brought us adorable matching aprons and lots of kitchen toys.

Our plan for now is to share three recipes per week, offering a variety of dishes that focus on seasonal produce, nutritious ingredients, and tasty twists. If you’ve made a new year’s resolution to eat more healthfully, we’ll have plenty of recipes for you—but don’t worry, there will be plenty of treats too!

Oreo Dessert (recipe coming soon!)

We have a few different ideas to inspire our cooking over the next few months. We’re looking forward to developing our culinary skills, experimenting with new ingredients, and trying creative combinations. Here are a few personal goals:

Kerry: With every trip to the grocery store, I hope to pick up a new ingredient and find a way to incorporate it into a delicious meal. There are many foods that I enjoy eating at a restaurant but have never made myself. Asparagus and pear both fall into this category! Since I find myself spending more time baking than cooking, I would like to bake with healthier ingredients. Spending time in the kitchen with Alicia has introduced me to different substitute ingredients, including using almond meal for flour and adding honey instead of sugar. Lastly, I want to use more spices (chili powder, cardamom, sage, and curry powder) in my cooking to enhance the flavors.

Perfect Picnic Chicken (recipe coming soon!)

Alicia: Just like Kerry, I like learning how to cook dishes that aren’t new to my palate but are new to my kitchen. My tastes have adjusted a lot since graduating from college and its unlimited cafeteria and being able to cook for myself. I’ll continue mostly following a paleo/primal lifestyle, but I want to carefully choose recipes to post that many can enjoy regardless of their dietary preferences. I’d also like to do regular Food & Friends posts. Learning about others’ favorite dishes and making something together is a great experience to share, and I look forward to doing more of it in 2012. I’d also like to follow through on my plans to start an indoor herb garden and generally do more DIY home- and kitchen-related projects. First up: building a spice rack!

As you can tell, we’ve been thinking a lot about future foodie plans. We’re excited to keep cooking together, and to keep blogging about it. Both of us love hearing from friends who try our recipes or just enjoy staring at the pictures, so keep telling us what you’d like to see in comments, on Facebook, or in person! One of our main priorities is to make The Humble Foodie a more interactive space in order to inspire and encourage everyone from new cooks (Devin) to the most seasoned chefs (our grandmas). Keep checking in this year, not only for recipes, but for projects, polls, guest posts, and more.

Until we mix again,

Kerry & Alicia

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Kerry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions for 2013 | Humble Foodie

Comments are closed.