Spring Greens Frittata

humble foodie paleo spring greens frittata

Spring is finally here, and though I’m not thrilled about the flash flooding it’s brought, I am over the moon to see tender stalks of asparagus back in the grocery store. Asparagus is a delicious side broiled and dusted with cayenne pepper, and it also makes a hearty green filling for a frittata. Breakfast is the one meal where I don’t always get enough vegetables, so stuffing this dish with as many greens as possible seems like a good solution.

Frittatas, an Italian egg dish, are a lifesaver. They’re easy to make, help use up leftovers, and keep well in the refrigerator for a few days. Though sitting down to a hot breakfast is a wonderful way to start the day, I don’t have time to cook something fresh every morning. I do, however, have time to microwave a slice of frittata and throw it on a plate with salad, sauerkraut, and some slices of avocado. Frittata is a sturdy breakfast dish, so it’s also easy to take a slice on the go when you’re short on time.

paleo whole30 spring greens frittata
I love these pear napkins from Sandalwood Studios.

Whenever I have a busy week, I spend a few minutes on Sunday and Wednesday nights making a frittata. A six-egg frittata is three breakfasts for me, but depending on your household and appetite, you may want to upgrade to one with eight eggs or even go up to a dozen and increase baking time accordingly. One of the hesitations many people have with going paleo or removing processed food from their diet is that making their own meals at home will take too much time.  That absolutely does not have to be the case. Frittata is a perfect dish for those new in the kitchen, new to Paleo, or focusing on clean eating. I tend to stuff my frittatas full of an obscene amount of vegetables, so scale back if you’re into something a little lighter.

Spring Greens Frittata
Recipe Type: Breakfast
Cuisine: Italian
Author: Alicia of HumbleFoodie.com
Prep time: 4 mins
Cook time: 12 mins
Total time: 16 mins
Serves: 3
Tasty spring vegetables and baked eggs make an easy breakfast with great leftovers
Ingredients
  • 1+ tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 bunch asparagus, trimmed and chopped into 1″ pieces
  • 2 teaspoons Herbes de Provence
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 6 eggs
  • optional: flat-leaf parsley for garnish
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Over medium heat, melt one tablespoon coconut oil in an 8-inch cast iron skillet. Add asparagus, season with Herbes de Provence, salt, and pepper. Saute til the asparagus begins to turn golden brown.
  3. Add green onions and cook for 30 more seconds, then turn off and remove from heat. Allow vegetables to cool slightly.
  4. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk eggs until evenly combined. Stir in vegetables.
  5. Make sure the skillet is evenly coated with coconut oil, adding a little more if necessary. Pour egg and vegetable mixture into the skillet and cook for 5 minutes over medium-low heat.
  6. Place skillet in preheated oven and cook for 4 minutes, then turn on broiler. Broil on high for 2-3 minutes or until the top of the frittata is puffy and golden brown.
  7. Garnish with flat leaf parsley before serving if desired.

 

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Breakfast, Frugal Cooking, Gluten-Free, Paleo/Primal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Spring Greens Frittata

  1. Alyssa says:

    I’ve been looking for some easy meals for breakfast. I’ll try this one this week!

  2. This looks wonderful Alicia! I am totally loving the use of herbes de provence!

    • Alicia says:

      Herbes de Provence were my favorite stocking stuffer from “Santa” (aka my knowing mom!) this year. Anything with lavender is an automatic favorite.

  3. Julie says:

    Obscene amounts of vegetables = right up my alley. Love this, it looks SO good. Your food photography is great…perhaps we can discuss how you do this??

    • Alicia says:

      All over those veggies. Also, thank you SO much for the photography comment! I’ve really been trying to improve my photography, so it means a lot to hear that. I have a higher end point and shoot camera that’s been with me for a few years. I experiment with using the macro lens setting if I’m shooting up close. I don’t own any special equipment in terms of lighting or backgrounds, so I’ve found that shooting in daylight, sometimes in my yard, is paramount for getting good images. I’m not experienced enough behind the lens to perfect the aperture and ISO, so good light is a blessing! I have also started using Pixlr express or editor to edit images after the fact. The main tools I use are contrast, brightness, blur (or spot blur? can’t remember what it’s called- helps mimic the use of a DSLR by keeping a selected part of the image clear while blurring the background).

      I’d really like to check out From Plate to Pixel by Helene Dujardin of Tartelette- her photos are divine. She’s a professional photographer who makes food that is truly exquisite. I’ve heard such good things about her book, so it’s on my wishlist for whenever I next get an Amazon g/c!

  4. Love the recipe, and echoing Julie, I love your food photography, especially playing with the fun print in the background! Any tips or suggestions on how you make such clean and crisp images would be greatly appreciated.

    • Alicia says:

      Sarah, thank you so much! As I said to Julie, I’ve been making an effort to set aside time to really “shoot” each recipe instead of my usual snapping pictures on my iPhone trick. One of my goals is to improve as a photographer, so thanks for the encouragement! I don’t have any expert secrets but put a few of my usual practices under her comment. Also realized that I’ve been playing with angle recently too- more overhead shots or slightly angled shots. Editing the photos in Pixlr has helped immensely to make them look more crisp!

  5. You and Julie are making me need to make this and buy cast iron dishes and skillets ASAP. Looks amazing, Alicia. I dig the asparagus and this looks way easier that I would have anticipated. I need to step up my breakfast game, clearly.

    • Alicia says:

      The Lodge 8″er is only $11 if I remember correctly! It’s a great asset to the kitchen for everyday cooking. I also have a fancypants Le Creuset skillet for larger dishes. I believe that one is enameled cast iron, which is helpful because I can use soap (the nemesis of original cast iron) when cleaning it out. This comment also reminded me that I have a “one skillet meals” cookbook from LC somewhere…I’ll have to dig that up for some more easy recipes!

  6. Uh, yum. Not sure there’s anything better than a delicious frittata. And I’m so with you on cooking meals in advance; there’s nothing better than coming home from a long day of work and realizing you have something homemade, healthy and delicious in your fridge.

    • Alicia says:

      Absolutely. Having breakfast cooked in advance makes the morning so much more peaceful. Since I’m used to running around and feeling like I get nothing done (the worst way ever to start the day), the frittata discovery felt revolutionary!

  7. Yum! I love how veggie packed this frittata is. And, the herbs de provence are a nice touch.

    • Alicia says:

      Thanks Dorothy! I firmly believe in stuffing as many veggies as possible into everything- frittatas, omelets, burritos- and having a salad too. Otherwise I always trick myself into thinking that I’m eating enough greens, but often I’m not.

Comments are closed.