Dolmas (Stuffed Grape Leaves)

Hi there! If you’re new to the Humble Foodie, thanks for dropping by! If you’re enjoying the recipes, projects, and musings, follow Humble Foodie on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Pinterest for even more pictures and updates. New friends are always welcome.

Paleo dolmas stuffed grape leaves with lemon

As a young child, I was a picky eater, despising spinach and hiding carrots under my high chair. I would plead with my mom for pizza Lunchables and TV dinners with chicken nuggets. I was an adventurous eater when it came to anything sugary, but if it grew in the ground, no thank you! What a strange exception, then, that such a picky child loved a dish wrapped in tangy grape leaves.

Dolmas, or stuffed grape leaves, are seasoned lamb mixed with minced onions and lemon juice and wrapped up in a tangy grape leaf. Despite my normal aversion to green and leafy vegetables, I would lick lemony sauce off my fingers and beg for more any time we ate them.

I grew up eating dolmas under the watchful eyes of my mom and her best friend, a beautiful artist who taught summer camp in our backyard and always had freezer pops on hand. We would drive to her house in DC and the moms would settle on her shady patio surrounded by blooming trellises. My brother and I would go nuts vying for the attention of her three children (all older, and thus way cooler, than us), bouncing on the trampoline and lovingly hassling her dog. In between our energetic fits, we would return to the patio to make a plate of stuffed grape leaves disappear along with a platter of hummus and pita.

Once I became a busy high schooler, one of my favorite takeout places was a Lebanese restaurant near my school. We always ordered dolmas, spinach fatayer (stuffed pie pastries), and kibbeh (a fried ball of bulghur dough stuffed with lamb and onions). In high school, my school’s open campus policy meant that during lunch, I could sprint to the restaurant, pick up a chicken shawarma sandwich and stuffed grape leaves, and run back with just enough time to scarf them down before class. I have always associated the richness of olive oil and delightful bite of lemon juice with family and comfort food.

paleo dolmas stuffed grape leaves

When you have high expectations of a favorite childhood meal, it can be intimidating to recreate the dish in your own kitchen. So despite my love of stuffed grape leaves, I hadn’t tried making them on my own until recently. Thankfully homemade dolmas are far easier to make than I expected. It is so satisfying to find my childhood favorite food in the refrigerator for me to pop into my mouth whenever I please.

Dolmas are traditionally made with lamb and rice. For a Paleo version, I based mine on the grain-free version from Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo. Though the originals are made with lamb, I used beef as a better fit for my budget and they were fantastic. If you haven’t checked out Practical Paleo yet, it is an amazing resource on the “why” of the Paleo diet and lifestyle as well as the “how”–that is, how to eat truly delicious and nutritious meals that won’t keep you in the kitchen all day.

Pan of dolmas paleo stuffed grape leaves

Nervous about rolling the dolmas into perfect little cylinders? Never fear- it’s simple! If you’re a visual learner like me, check out this video from Melissa Joulwan, another phenomenal Paleo cookbook author.

Dolmas (Stuffed Grape Leaves)
Recipe Type: Appetizer or Entree
Cuisine: Mediterranean
Author: Alicia of HumbleFoodie.com
Prep time: 45 mins
Cook time: 35 mins
Total time: 1 hour 20 mins
Serves: 4
A Paleo take on lemony stuffed grape leaves
Ingredients
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup finely diced onion
  • 1 1/4 pounds ground beef or lamb
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
  • Sea salt and ground black pepper to taste
  • 1 cup grated or riced cauliflower
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2 dozen grape leaves
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 lemon
  • 4 bay leaves
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a large skillet over medium heat, melt coconut oil and sautee onion until translucent. Add ground meat and spices and cook until only a bit of pink remains. Season with salt and pepper as desired.
  3. Stir in cauliflower and cook for 2-3 more minutes, then stir in lime juice. Remove from heat.
  4. Select a 9×13″ baking dish and set it next to your workspace. Gently separate the grape leaves and lay them out one by one.
  5. Spoon 1-2 tablespoons of the meat mixture into the center of the leaf towards the stem. Roll the bottom of the leaf up over the mixture, fold in the sides, and continue to roll until the tip of the leaf is tucked underneath.
  6. Place rolled dolmas in the baking dish. Pour 1/4 cup water over the tray. Slice the lemon in two and squeeze half of the lemon over the tray. Slice the other half thinly. Top the dolmas with bay leaves and place a thin lemon slice on top of each.
  7. Cover the tray with foil and bake for 35 minutes or until the water has almost entirely evaporated. Remove the bay leaves before eating. Dolmas are good served hot or cold, but I prefer to refrigerate them for a day, then drizzle with extra lemon juice and olive oil and serve cold.
Notes
Serves 4 as an entree or 8 as an appetizer/hors d’oeuvre Adapted from Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo

 

 

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Appetizers and Side Dishes, Gluten-Free, Main Dish, Paleo/Primal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Dolmas (Stuffed Grape Leaves)

  1. Julie says:

    I’m not even going to tell you how loud I squealed when I saw this. (Loud.) Weekend project = on the docket. Question: where do you find your grape leaves?

    • Alicia says:

      I’m glad you’re excited! I cheat…I work in a really diverse area so the basic supermarket carries food from all different cultures and countries- making it easy to find grape leaves, tapioca pearls for bubble tea, whole fish, and all kinds of goodies. If there is a grocery store or restaurant with a Greek/Mediterranean/Middle Eastern focus near you, I would check there.

  2. Oh man do these look good. Cauliflower is an awesome touch, I think I have to make these!

    • Alicia says:

      Thanks Kelly! Once you make them and have a platter, it’s so tempting to just pop them in your mouth nonstop. Hope you find them as yummy as I do.

  3. Ok, I have to admit that Dolmas kind of scare me and I’m working my way up to trying them. That being said, I love Mediterranean food and need to get over it! Lol. So, I am going to pin your recipe and we’re gonna work on me giving them a go!! 🙂
    K

    • Alicia says:

      I promise they are far easier than they look! Just don’t try to overstuff and they will roll up right quick. I love making “project” recipes (i.e. recipes like this where there is something to assemble or wrap) with a friend- so you can consider them your moral support!

  4. Wondering if it is completely against the rules to use ground turkey…or would that completely ruin this? Thoughts?

    LOOKS AMAZING.

    • Alicia says:

      I am all about making the food YOU want to eat- so I say go for it with the turkey! You could experiment with the spice combinations. I bet turkey would be delicious with ground sage, a little thyme, cumin, and parsley. The flavor will be different and I’m sure a purist wouldn’t like my beef substitution or the turkey idea, but if you find it delicious that’s all that matters!

  5. pinkoclock says:

    Ooh, I like Eileen’s idea of using ground turkey–yum! These look so delicious, Alicia–I was so glad to see this recipe posted!

    • Alicia says:

      Let me know if you try the turkey version and what seasonings you use! It’s always good to have a few different ways to try the same dish. I still have 1/3 jar of grape leaves leftover, so if I get my act together I may try them with turkey too.

  6. Vanessa says:

    Those look amazing! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. Yum! My extended family is half Asyrian, so I grew up with food like this, too. My grandma always made hers with meat, too, but since I’m a vegetarian every now and then my mom would make ones for me that were just rice & veggies. My fave Middle Eastern bakery is called– wait for it– Middle Eastern Bakery in Andersonville. It’s on Foster just west of Clark. They have all the fixins you’ll ever need plus delicious lentil soup and lavash to take home with you.

    • Alicia says:

      Time for a field trip- I love Andersonville! One of the highlights of city life will be the restaurant selection…the suburbs are not as abundant with delicious choices. I want to try a vegetarian version as well. I usually ate veggie ones growing up just from preference, but these were great as a main dish.

Comments are closed.