Weekend Reads // ed. 6

colorful wooden elephants

Happy Saturday! You already know I’m looking forward to the weekend, but I hope you have some excitement coming your way as well. This week has been particularly rich in awesome posts from around the internet. Let me know what you think of the following stories:

  • Sarah is a circus performer (more specifically, an aerialist) and offers an explanation of the side plank pushup as a great way to work on your own aerial abs.
  • I heard Hannah Gamble read at the Dollhouse Reading Series and found her refreshing, frank, and funny. She’s blogging for The Poetry Foundation in honor of National Poetry Month and wrote a wonderful post on why the average fourth grader is a better poet than you.
  • Self-care is a critical gesture of love and acceptance. It’s also a powerful professional responsibility.
  • I love the idea of creating a Be Kind to Yourself list, like this one from Megan at Pink O’Clock.
  • Sometimes social media gives you a peek into others’ seemingly perfect lives that makes your own feel less-than. Remember the purpose of the internet: to connect. Stop Instagramming Your Perfect Life
  • Being kind to others is a phenomenal way to live. Here’s how to bestow a courageous compliment from Alexandra Franzen.
  • Maribel of Food4ThoughtNYC always has motivational, inspiring posts about health and wellness. She writes here about why giving up Paleo was the best decision for her.
  • I usually don’t look for substitutes for bread and biscuits–if I’m going to indulge, I go for it whole hog. But this recipe for kabocha squash biscuits from Real Food Forager looks too good to pass up for a savory weekend breakfast!

Hope your weekend is full of brunch and beauty.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Links and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekend Reads // ed. 6

  1. Especially enjoyed the “stop instragramming your perfect life”. It’s this very reason that I’ve moved away from reading design-y “I have two children and my husband is a broker and we have a perfect brownstone and nothing ever goes wrong” blogs. It is so much more refreshing to read a blog where a more even scale is presented. Connecting and sharing like experiences is such a big part of why I put time into blogging. So happy with the honest, open community that I’ve found as a late.

    Side note – This article made me think that I should have A start taking photos of my meltdowns. Do they make a special filter for that?

    • Alicia says:

      Hahaha I’m not sure they’ve perfected meltdown yet but you should definitely tweet them that idea.

      And yes- I always strive to present the positive on my blog, but the posts that really resonate with me are ones where the author opens up about something that is messy and imperfect and maybe not so positive. I would like to write more of those. I’m not on the fence about sharing imperfection, but often those thoughts in my life accompany more personal/private events that I’m not sure about sharing online. Hopefully we can discuss at We All Do Better soon!

  2. Thanks for shoutout! I’m fascinated by the aerialist page you linked here. Her whole page is SO amazing! I love pages that are truly unique and reflective of the blogger’s personality. Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

    • Alicia says:

      I’m glad you like the page! I was equally fascinated when I first found out about aerialists and I think I read like, her entire archive. It’s so cool!

  3. Thanks for the link love, Alicia! And I’m so excited to read the “Stop Instagramming Your Perfect Life” post–I sometimes find myself feeling kind of inadequate after looking at others’ seemingly perfect and problem-free photos–what’s that phrase? “Comparison is the thief of joy”?–so I can’t wait to read this. Hope you’ve had a great weekend!

    • I need that phrase tattooed somewhere on my body to remind me Momento style to STOP the comparison- me to other, me to my college self/highschool self/person I thought I’d be at 26.

      I loved that article, too.

  4. Great weekend reads! I especially loved the article on the idea of how perfection is portrayed through media. It can really get you if you let it.
    Kenley

    • Alicia says:

      I don’t remember the exact quote, but I like the idea that social media shows everyone else’s “highlight reel” whereas real life is full of bloopers. Remembering that perspective always helps when I find myself comparing my life to an edited, filtered, carefully curated version of someone else’s whether it’s on a blog or Facebook.

Comments are closed.