Looking Forward

humblefoodieheader4-4-13.jpg.jpg

Every morning this week, I’ve woken up to sunshine and felt so happy that spring is finally here (one exception being Mother Nature’s cute April Fool’s snow shower.) Celebrating when things are going well is a part of my efforts to continuously practice gratitude.

In the fable of the ant and the grasshopper, the industrious ant spends the beautiful spring and summer stockpiling food for the winter. When winter finally comes, the ant has more than enough to share with the frivolous grasshopper who fiddled away the summer. The grasshopper’s love of life combined with the ant’s diligence inspire me to savor each happy day: like the seasons, emotions are cyclical, and everyone has bad days.

Reflecting often on the positive and rewarding aspects of life creates a habit. Even when a day carries the bitter cold of winter, my instinct now encourages me to focus on the positive. I am not invincibly happy, but practicing gratitude has built a joyful life.

In the spirit of celebrating and looking forward, I’m sharing five bits of anticipation that are brightening my day:

  • Visiting a zine library and perusing homemade magazines for creative inspiration
  • Temperatures in the 50s and 60s this weekend
  • A coffee shop date with myself to work on a blog style guide and overhaul (!!!)
  • Time with my friend’s puppy this weekend
  • Went to bed at 9 last night and fully intend to repeat the experience tonight- woo, Friday!

What are you looking forward to this weekend?

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Gratitude, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Looking Forward

  1. I enjoy the fable of the ant and the grasshopper as well — and feel that it is so important to strike a balance between the two.

    Sounds like you’ve got some great stuff to look forward to this weekend! I’m excited to hear more about your blog style guide and overhaul. 🙂

    Kenley

    • Alicia says:

      A book of Aesop’s fables is on my mental list of things to look for any time I pop into a thrift shop. I grew up with those stories and love the simple, straightforward teachings about character.

      Excited to spend some time working on the bigger aspects of the blog- the things that get pushed to the back when I prioritize writing, photos, social media, etc. Have a great weekend!

  2. Dude, can you recommend your favorites on the zine front? I love to get into them, and yet I’m terrible at finding good ones. You have wonderful taste in all things; please share!

    Also: blog style guide! How cool. Brandi Bernoskie helped me with mine, if you’re looking for outside help (and I am in love with her. In a platonic, non-creepy way). Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Alicia says:

      Oh thank you! I will let you know what I pick up. I’m specifically looking for zines to share with high school students, but I will absolutely be keeping my eye out for picks of my own.

      I love your blog’s layout and style. Right now an outside consultant is not in the budgetary cards but I will definitely keep her name in mind for the future! I’m excited to play around and take inspiration from some of my favorite blogs and designers’ portfolios.

  3. The sunshine is making my week, too! This afternoon I got out of the office for a chance to enjoy it.

    The line “Reflecting often on the positive and rewarding aspects of life creates a habit. ” really resonated me. What we practice is what becomes habit. I’ve always been one to treasure the little moments, but over the last year I’ve become more of a worrier than I’d like to be. Practicing positvity and focus on the good stuff helps make that more of a habit than letting my mind wander to the what ifs.

    SO looking forward to the style guide! I’ve been pondering on a new look for LBTL which hopefully will come sometime this summer.

    Things I’m looking forward to this weekend:
    -SLEEPING IN – this one is needed after a few nights of bad sleep this week
    -Buying a bike rack for our car so that A and I can explore trails at the arboretum & botanical gardens
    -Long runs along the lake to kick off Saturday and Sunday
    -Cartoons during breakfast (errrr, I still do this…)
    -Visiting the nursery to pick up some succulents for a terrarium I’m putting together!

    Enjoy your weekend! Jealous of your puppy time. I’m still working on A when it comes to pet ownership 🙂

    • Alicia says:

      I’m a big worrier too, and I tend to start stressing easily. Making a habit of pointing out moments of gratitude and happiness is so important for mitigating my natural anxiety.

      So happy to hear about your weekend plans. The bike rack sounds like a wonderful investment in fun, exploration, and health! I miss having a bike here and will have to look into that once I move into the city. I always think I’d like to bike but urban biking is a little terrifying, so I’ll have to figure out if it’s worthwhile for me.

      I love love love succulents and can’t wait to see your terrarium. I’m sure it will be creative and stylish, if plants can be stylish.

      Excited to dig into the style guide with an overhaul in mind. I’m toying with the idea of a move too, but that would be a summer project as well. Maybe a project to discuss over coffee sometime. 🙂

      • Urban biking sort of scares me at times as well. I’ve totally been that girl who has fallen while biking on lake shore drive’s paths (always wear a helmet!) in the midst of tons of biker/runners/bladers, etc. It’s a big part of why I’m looking forward to biking outside the city, actually.

        Succulent snaps to come! I’m hoping to coax A to the nursery tomorrow. These plants will be styling!!

        Coffee blog date for sure! Btw, your ears should have been burning last night. In the cab on the way home from dinner, Beth and I were chatting about how excited we are for our dinner date in a few weeks! So soon!

      • Alicia says:

        I can’t wait for our dinner date! And coffee! I feel like I’m making so many plans recently and living in a state of constant anticipation and excitement. It’s kind of strange because some of them are future plans that won’t come any faster (e.g. moving into the city) so all I can do is bide my time, but I can’t wait!

  4. That sounds like such a nice way to spend your weekend! I am terrible at going to bed at an “appropriate” time, even though I know I’ll pay for it during the day. But every time I do go to bed before 10 p.m. and wake up early, I feel so refreshed and accomplished. “I have the whole day ahead of me! Wow! World, here I come!” Also, puppies make everything better.

    I keep telling myself I’ll make myself a blog style guide or a posting schedule and then I just never do. I look forward to seeing yours; maybe inspiration will strike!

    • Alicia says:

      It is so hard to go to bed at an appropriate time- for some reason every TV show, novel, blog post, etc. seems to become way more interesting when I’m about to unplug around 9. It’s easy to get sucked in! But you’re right about feeling great in the morning, and I do look forward to that on Saturdays whenever I can.

  5. I love your looking-forward-tos! And your attitude toward practicing gratitude, of course–it’s really inspired me, so thank you for that. Hope you have the best weekend–and can’t wait to see what you have in store for the blog! (I’m an editor by trade so I’m really into style guides. ;)) xo

    • Alicia says:

      Thank you so much for this sweet comment! I’m glad the focus on gratitude has inspired you. I’ll have to get your editor’s eye on the style guide before I go crazy making changes. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Weekend Reads // ed. 6 |

Comments are closed.