No Scrubs: Paleo Pizza

Paleo Pizza Recipe

Humble Foodie has moved! This recipe, and many more, are now at JaybirdBlog.com. Click here to get this paleo pizza recipe.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Gluten-Free, Main Dish, Paleo/Primal, Weeknight Dinner and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to No Scrubs: Paleo Pizza

  1. YUM! This looks so great. I’ve heard of paleo pizza with cauliflower standing in for the crust, but not almond flour. Definitely trying it this weekend.

    • Alicia says:

      I’ve found better cauliflower versions since the first one I tried, but the crispy, borderline cracker-y texture of this crust blows them out of the water for me. Hope you have a wonderful and pizza-ful weekend!
      Alicia

  2. I’ve been waiting for this recipe since I saw it come up on your Instagram!! As a fellow GF gal, I really REALLY appreciate a homemade pizza recipe. We order out for GF pizza on special occasions, but I’d love to whip up a legit version at my own hand. We’ve got all of this in stock, so I might give it a go this weekend!

  3. McKenna Ryan says:

    This pizza looks so yummy! I would love a slice right now. I am so exited that I stumbled upon your blog. The design is lovely. I will definitely be following you on bloglovin and GFC. xx. McKenna Lou
    http://www.lynnandlou.com

    • Alicia says:

      Thanks McKenna, I’m excited to have found your blog too! Hope you get to try the recipe and enjoy it as much as I do.
      Alicia

  4. This is great Alicia!! We don’t follow paleo but I have a couple very close friends that have gluten allergies so I’ve been searching for a great paleo/gluten free pizza recipe to be able to make when we entertain. This sounds tasty. 🙂
    Kenley

    • Alicia says:

      Wonderful! I bet this would make nice mini pizzas too if you wanted to have bite-sized appetizers. The crust holds up pretty well and could serve as a good loaded-cracker type hors d’oeuvre.

  5. Hmmm I tried the cauliflower crust thing and didn’t hate it, which was pretty surprising haha. This looks really tasty though!

    • Alicia says:

      The more foods that you like, the better for your Whole30! I know that even super clean pizza is not allowed because of the psychological aspect, but I hope you get to try this one in May. 🙂

  6. Debbie Fechter says:

    Hi,
    I am in the process of making this and I was wondering, when you measure out the almond meal, do you pack it into the measuring cup like you would brown sugar or like you would regular flour. I doubled the recipe and it didn’t make very much dough.
    Thanks,
    Debbie

    • Alicia says:

      Hi Debbie,
      Thanks for stopping by! I don’t pack the almond meal; I just scoop it out of my storage jar. The recipe makes enough dough for one pizza of about 8″ in diameter. I try not to eat too many nuts at a time, so 1/2 cup of almond meal makes a good serving size for me. You can probably spread the dough just a bit thinner (up to 10″) to have more surface area for toppings- I always pile them high and they are the stars of the show!
      Alicia

  7. Amy says:

    Ok – Wow!! My husband and I are at the end of our first week on Paleo – and when Friday night came (aka Pizza Night), we were almost tempted to cheat… Then I found this recipe! It was so amazing! We’re having it again tomorrow night! It def. met our “pizza night” need, and my husband even said it may be his new favorite pizza! Thank you very much!

    • Amy says:

      Additional note: I made 3 crusts, topped with some “traditional” pizza toppings (mushrooms, black olives, ground beef, some paleo approved bacon, and a little grated parmesean), and my 12 y.o. loved it, too.

    • Alicia says:

      Amy, I’m happy to hear that this is a new favorite in your house! Your topping choices sound scrumptious- especially bacon, yum! I’ve made this pizza for dinner plenty of times as well as for breakfast, topped with a ton of veggies and two fried eggs. I hope you continue to find new favorite recipes as you explore all the paleo possibilities.

  8. I made this tonight! It was delicious!! Thank you!

  9. I made this for dinner tonight, the only changes I made were to sub out some of the herbs since we did a BBQ chicken pizza and it was so good!! Definitely the best low carb/Paleo/gluten free crust I’ve tried! Thanks for sharing the recipe! 🙂

  10. NerveSaw says:

    Hey this is great! I can’t wait to try it!!

  11. Pingback: 9 Creative Paleo Pizza Crusts (Grain Free Crust Options)

  12. Pingback: Top 10 American Pizza Recipes

  13. Pingback: How do You Cook that- ??? - Page 39 - Playa del Carmen, Mexico forum

  14. Kim Oakes says:

    I was able to pick up the pizza! What a perfect, bendy crust! (I actually subbed a flax egg because I was feeling frugal)

  15. Jessica says:

    Anyone use coconut flour instead if the almond meal?

  16. Pingback: To Grain or Not to Grain? | Farmgirlstrong

  17. Sarah says:

    Have you tried freezing the crust after baking it for the 10 minutes and then using it later?

Comments are closed.