Weekend Reads

tender buttons llama presents lisa congdon illustration by Lisa Congdon in Tender Buttons

This week I have barely been able to keep up with all the amazing articles, blog posts, recipes, and examples of artistry from around the web. There are a lot of bits and pieces flying around in my mind. Hope you enjoy this cross cut of my favorites:

I love when pictures breathe new life into words from the past. Lisa Congdon’s illustrations (above) paired with Gertrude Stein’s verse- brilliant. Tender Buttons

Exquisite craft of the week: DIY Pressed Flower iPhone Case

Two fantastic writers on the importance of acknowledging one simple fact: you are responsible for your own health. It is harder to achieve than advertisements and diet tips make it out to be, but isn’t anything worth having? From “Why Health Integrity Matters, Or The Power of Being Honest with Yourself“:

Cultivating a sense of well-being opens up your life rather than restricts it. It’s not about self-restraint but self-possession. The more you practice and hone it, the more you come into yourself. Discipline encourages creativity rather than resentment. It’s less about control than composure in the face of daily challenges. – Mark Sisson

And “Equations,” on how affection can sometimes reinforce unproductive behaviors that are detrimental to our overall health:

Because we show our girl-love via validation and affirmation, we can tell each other untruths that unravel the gains for which we work so hard: “You’re sad? Skip that workout and have a few glasses of wine!” – Julie

At the same time, it’s important to interrogate your underlying motivation when setting a goal of being totally fit or healthy. Are you striving for an appearance of health that meets the cultural ideal, or are you prioritizing your best health inside and out regardless of appearance? Those two may or may not be synonymous, with great variety according to your genes, medical history, and body type. I’m saving both of these pieces to think on more over the weekend.

On Wednesday, Eileen shared the devastating transition from being a confident little girl to a self-critical woman–and back to a confident, self-loving individual all over again. Ashley’s piece, The Purity of a Child, about her yearning to reclaim the innocence and simplicity of seeing the world through a child’s eyes, reminded me of the same.

Better blogging is something that’s often on my mind. This helpful list of resources for food bloggers from Pinch of Yum is a great starting point for improvements.

Recipe of the Week: here’s the deal guys. I’m only sharing this if you’ll make some for me too…Paleo Vegan Cadbury Creme Eggs!

I had no idea Kate Spade liked dinosaurs or was generally kind of a badass. Now I know.

Book of the week: What Work Is (poetry) by Philip Levine
Favorite poems so far: Gin, Snails, and the title poem What Work Is

“The world needs your evolution + clarity of heart”
Danielle Dowling writes about how we are each simultaneously a student and a teacher, whether we like it or not.

And that’s all I’ve got for you today folks. What treasures have you picked up from around the web this week?

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Links and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekend Reads

  1. That DIY pressed flower phone case, RIGHT?! That’s on my list too, this week. Not sure I’ll actually follow through with making one on my own – I’m a shy DIY’er, but it looks amazing.

    Thanks for the great reads – I think I need to start following Mark Sisson. Each time you post something from his site, I find myself nodding my head along and saving it for future reference.

    Enjoy the holiday weekend, lady. xx

    • Alicia says:

      If I can find a super cheap white iPhone case, I think I will do it…but once something involves online ordering and not just materials I have on hand, I have to admit that I often lose interest. The pressed flowers are wonderful though, and a good reminder to keep an eye out for wildflowers as spring begins!

      Mark Sisson is great. Your comment made me realize that I don’t actually have him in my reader; I usually go read his posts when someone else shares them too! Adding him now. 🙂

  2. Great links shared this week! I really enjoyed Pinch of Yum’s resources for food bloggers — specifically the list for driving traffic through photo submissions. Thanks 🙂
    Enjoy the weekend and the holiday!
    Kenley

  3. Thank you for the link love, my dear! I’m pinning Mark’s article; that’s been something on my mind as of late. I’ve realized I need to cultivate a real, true, clear sense of WHY I want to be healthy and to focus on those reasons when it becomes tempting (and frankly, just easier) to grab takeout or skip the gym.

    • Alicia says:

      Of course! I am really enjoying your icon posts. And yes, Mark’s post really resonated this week…I actually printed it out to give it some more thought while annotating. Nerdy habits die hard. The deep “why” of being healthy is the most powerful motivator. I mentioned vision boards on your blog- I think that making one is something that will help me narrow that focus!

Comments are closed.