Cucumber Avocado Tea Sandwich Bites

Before sharing this tasty spring recipe, I want to say thank you to everyone who read and commented on Eileen’s guest post, The Summer I Broke Up with Swimsuit Season. I was touched by her bodily reclamation–screw you, self-criticism!–when I first read it, and I had hoped that the post would resonate with Humble Foodie readers too. The wonderful comments it received are a testament both to the awesome community that reads this blog and to the need for more body positive messages in general. Let’s keep adding to the discussion–and let me know if you have an idea you’d like to share in the future.

In the meantime, it may not be quite warm enough to break out the swimsuits, but temperatures have finally passed 40 degrees here in Chicago. My picnic blanket made its seasonal debut today while I planted seeds in the garden: Georgia collards, Chantenay carrots, and an unnamed variety of lettuce.

My fingers and toes are crossed for more beautiful days to come. So far, I’ve celebrated spring by:

  • taking out the trash with no shoes on (not recommended, ouch)
  • unpacking summer dresses and debating whether or not I can wear them without turning into a popsicle
  • testing recipes for summer barbecues using the broiler instead of the grill
  • choosing recipes for a garden party!

Entertaining is much more fun in the spring than in the winter. Even the smallest bit of outdoor space–a balcony, a deck, or a patio–lends sunshine and charm to a spring gathering. Whether you have the space for a garden party or would rather just have tea, light appetizers are a must when it’s warm outside.

cucumber avocado tea sandwich bites

These open-faced tea sandwiches, adapted from a recipe on The PPK, feature fresh mint and dill blended with creamy avocado for a refreshing take on the cucumber sandwich. My version is paleo, gluten free, and vegan friendly, appealing to friends across the dietary spectrum.

When I took these to a potluck, I made the filling right before leaving my house and sealed it into a Ziploc bag. I put the already-sliced cucumbers into a Tupperware container and headed out. When I arrived, I quickly assembled the tea sandwiches for maximum green freshness–no icky brown avocado.

Cucumber Avocado Tea Sandwich Bites
Recipe Type: appetizer
Author: Alicia of HumbleFoodie.com
Prep time: 10 mins
Total time: 10 mins
Serves: 6
A refreshing bite of cucumber and creamy avocado
Ingredients
  • 2 ripe avocados, kept cold in the fridge
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup peeled and chopped cucumber (about 1/2 large cucumber)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint leaves
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh dill
  • to serve: 1 1/2 large cucumbers peeled in strips and sliced
Instructions
  1. Prepare the spread by pureeing avocado, lemon juice, and salt in the food processor until smooth. Add cucumber and pulse until finally chopped, then add mint and dill. Pulse again so they are just combined.
  2. Put the filling in a plastic bag, squeezing out all air. Let sit in the fridge while slicing cucumbers.
  3. Peel cucumbers, making sure to leave some of the peel on in stripes for decorative appeal. Cut off ends and cut into 1/4-1/2-inch slices.
  4. Cut one corner off the plastic bag and use it to pipe the spread onto the cucumber slices in spirals.
  5. Enjoy any extra spread as a dip with other fresh vegetables.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Appetizers and Side Dishes, Entertaining, Gluten-Free, Paleo/Primal, Snacks, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cucumber Avocado Tea Sandwich Bites

  1. YUM. Cucumber slices make the best base for dips. I’ve never tried this mint-avocado-dill situation before, though! Looks so good. Pinning it, doing it.

    • Alicia says:

      The mint really perks up the classic cucumber-dill sandwich filling. I think I need to develop some kind of iced tea cocktail and start having a Friday garden party/happy hour pretty much every week. Spring just arrived but I already can’t wait for summer!

    • Have you guys used jicama before? I’ve been meaning to try preparing it on my own (literally just cutting it up) after having an amazing pineapple mango diced jicama salad and a ceviche dish that used it for dipping instead of chips.

      Seems like it could be a great addition to the platter!

      • Alicia says:

        I love jicama! So funny that you say this- I had ceviche from a restaurant a couple days ago and meant to post a recipe on the blog soon. My roommate always makes ceviche and I had been thinking about clean eating alternatives to chips, so I was going to play with jicama. I’ve only really sliced it and enjoyed it plain or as matchsticks in a salad.

  2. A big thanks to everyone who read or commented on the post from me, too! Alicia you’re the best.

    And THESE, well they look delightful. I’ve been meaning to host a little tea party – these would be perfect for the menu. Also, great Saturday afternoon post workout snack, if i do say so!!

    Enjoy your weekend! The SUNSHINE is here 🙂 I kicked off with a run outside (yup, in the fresh air!) and it was spectacular. Happy for both of us that the season is finally changing.

    • Alicia says:

      Me too! I think the cold you mentioned on Twitter has been going around- so even though the weather’s beautiful, I’m feeling like my body got stuck with the congested vestiges of winter. Hoping some time in the fresh air today will be restorative! Congrats on your outdoor run…such a healthy and celebratory kickoff to the season.

  3. These are so cute, fun, and perfect for entertaining with a mixture of vegan and paleo/gluten free… and since I have friends that live in each of these camps, I often am looking for recipes that reach both goals. And these, as you said, are perfect for spring entertaining — especially outside! 🙂
    Kenley

  4. Pingback: Week in Review: Space Oddity, Poda, and Memorial Day | Green Door Hospitality

Comments are closed.