Weekend Reads

pepper pot with spoon

Knick knacks, kitsch, decor…these seem like things you pick up on the way to adulthood. One day you’re bopping along in your early twenties, trying to decide if it’s really worth $10 to cover your water-stained dinner table with a Target tablecloth, and then suddenly you’ve reached a place where you own pepper pots, elephant bookends, and a special pan for poaching eggs.

When I am settled enough to consider myself well and truly an adult, I will own an adorable little pepper pot like this one. While I’m getting there, here’s what I’m thinking and reading about this week.

Make things easier on yourself: Simplify Your Week in 7 Easy Steps

“Labels are for jars. And you are not a jar.
A creative and healthy reminder via Design for Mankind

Looking forward to the new season of Arrested Development on Netflix in May? I am so excited that I think I just blue myself. Hopefully these Animals Who Wish They Were in Arrested Development will tide you over.

Women in bikinis is always a hot topic. I love this navy print bikini almost as much as I love Brittany Gibbons’ attitude about wearing it. Why I’m Wearing a Bikini on the Internet

Recipe of the Week: Poached Eggs on Broiled Portobellos from BIG EATS…tiny kitchen

I took a bit of a breather this week. The time was well-spent: I’m focusing on getting to my best health and most positive self. More on that to come. In the meantime, have a beautiful weekend!

Alicia

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekend Reads

  1. Hey Alicia, happy weekend! BIG arrested development fan so naturally big fan of animals who wish they were in the series. Thanks for the chuckle 🙂

    • Alicia says:

      So glad to hear we are kindred spirits in our love for the Bluths as well as for happy bellies! Hope you have a great weekend.

  2. THIS LINE: I easily had 42 breakdowns on my bedroom floor, but I took another shot of tequila and got back on the horse, because if I had just given up, I never would have found two looks that make me feel crazy swim suit confident and positively gorgeous.

    I am head over heels for the “Why I’m Wearing a Bikini on the Internet” read.

    Sarah from For Love of Chow and I have been discussing swimwear a lot lately, as she’s going on warm weather trip beginning this weekend. My advice outside of fit/brand/quality was “buy a suit that you’d feel comfortable eating tacos in”. ‘Cause thats how you should feel in a swimsuit – it’s how we all deserve to feel: Confident enough to eat tacos.

    When it comes down to it, I think swimwear confidence is a marriage between our self-image and the physical quality and fit/structure of the literal suit. When those two things connect, it’s time for a mexican fiesta to be had.

    Last spring, after a horrendous search for swimwear led to much crying on my bedroom floor, just as Brittany points out, I had a revelation of sorts. It led me two retro fitting one pieces and a total 180 of how I feel about obsessing over clothing and my body. And you know what? One day last summer while hangin’ at the lake house, I found myself eating tacos in my bathing suit. Hell would have had to freeze over to achieve this in any other time of my life.

    Thanks for sharing this. I can’t wait to re-post!

    Have a lovely weekend. And, I’m WITH you on knick knacks. They tell a store of my life all of their own – one about building a home and growing up.

    • Alicia says:

      It’s true: swimsuits and any piece of clothing should make you feel radiant and comfortable enough to do anything you want. I will definitely keep tacos in mind when shopping for a suit for the summer; that’s a really great way of summing up a meaningful piece of advice. Now I also really want tacos…

      Have a fantastic weekend!

  3. Julie says:

    Obsessed with the Bluths, but about to marry you over the portobello benedict recipe. LOVE.

  4. I, too, am looking forward to the return of the Bluths. And that egg recipe? Heavenly! Thanks for the great links.

  5. Great links! Loved the humor of the animal wannabe arrested development characters and the practicalness of ‘simplify your week in 7 easy steps’! And I think that pepper pot is so cute! Where did you see it/find it/etc.? (Coveting right now! 🙂 )
    Kenley

    • Alicia says:

      Isn’t it adorable? I believe it’s an antique- spotted at a colleague’s house with a cute matching salt pot. I will absolutely have my eye out for a set the next time I go thrifting!
      Alicia

Comments are closed.