Sweet Potato Brownies

paleo sweet potato brownies

This recipe has moved (and been upgraded!) Visit JaybirdBlog.com for the sweet potato brownie recipe and other Humble Foodie classics.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesnโ€™t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, whatโ€™s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, weโ€™re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Desserts, Gluten-Free, Paleo/Primal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sweet Potato Brownies

  1. Congrats on the job! How exciting for you ๐Ÿ™‚ And the brownies look great too!
    Kenley

  2. Congratulations on the new job! So great! And you can NEVER go wrong with brownies.

    • Alicia says:

      Thanks Megan! I am probably going to use it as an excuse to celebrate/eat delicious things for way longer than is necessary.

  3. Julie says:

    Yayyyy new job! And I am making these tonight in a very serious way.

    • Alicia says:

      Wheee! Let me know what you think. I liked them even more the next deal- I feel like baked goods with sweet potato or pumpkin tend to become sweeter as you let them sit for a bit.

  4. Go YOU!!!! So excited to meet up in the Chi for dinner and coffee dates ๐Ÿ™‚

    These brownies are on the list of desserts I want in my mouth now. Can’t wait to whip these up once we finally go grocery shopping.

    • Alicia says:

      Hurrah! I hope you love them. Also, maybe someday we can do a blog potluck! My coworkers are all foodies and have completely spoiled me this year with the number of staff potlucks we do, so I’m always trying to convince friends that we should share dishes. I’m so excited to move into the city!

      • YES! Potlucks = one of my favorite things. My Chicago friends and I always do a 4th of July and Thanksgiving one that are both quite epic, but I’d love to do them more often!

  5. CONGRATS! And these looks amazing… I need to purchase some coconut flour!

  6. Sandy says:

    I made these last night, and I LOVE them! Really great recipe, and my new go-to chocolate Paleo treat!

  7. Meggin D says:

    I just made these, as my first Paleo desert. My mom has been sugar free for about a year and tries to avoid wheat as much as possible. I’m going to surprise her with these tonight!

    Just a note…my brownies turned out quite wet on the bottom – almost soggy. Should I have baked them for longer? The top and middle are just fine!

    Thank your for an awesome, easy recipe. These are pretty yummy!

    • Alicia says:

      Meggin, that is so sweet! I’m sure your mom appreciates your thoughtfulness. I’m glad she enjoyed the brownies.

      The brownies are always pretty moist, but they shouldn’t be soggy on the bottom. That did happen to me once before, but I believe it was because I covered the pan with foil too soon after baking (I had to go to sleep and didn’t want to leave them uncovered). I think this trapped in some heat and moisture, making them a little soggy. I’d suggest baking them a little longer, then making sure to let them cool, uncovered, in the pan and not covering or wrapping til completely cool.

  8. Meggin D says:

    PS: My mom LOVED them! Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Victoria says:

    Can I substitute the applesauce for honey?

    • Alicia says:

      Hi Victoria,

      You could definitely try it, and I’m sure it would increase the sweetness of the brownies even more. I’m not sure how it would change the baked consistency. If you do try it, please let me know how it goes!

  10. sheri says:

    what about using pumpkin instead of sweet potato?

  11. ~Christina says:

    I have a silly question…how do you make sweet potato puree? I’m assuming I bake and mash it, but do you add some kind of liquid to it? (Sorry if this is obvious to others–I’m a cooking newbie!)

  12. Meghan says:

    Looking forward to making these!! If I don’t have parchment paper, can I use something else? Maybe grease the pan with coconut oil?

  13. Lesa says:

    These just came out of the oven and I’m taking them to a Halloween celebration tonight. So far I’ve been underwhelmed with the sweetness of the batter and the sweetness of the crumbs from the brownies. I sure hope they taste sweeter by this evening or they may end up a big flop and in the trash.

Comments are closed.