5 Uses for Sweet Potato Puree

sweet potato puree five recipes

This post has moved! Visit JaybirdBlog.com for 5 uses for sweet potato puree and other classic Humble Foodie recipes.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Appetizers and Side Dishes, Breakfast, Desserts, Frugal Cooking, Gluten-Free, Links, Main Dish, Paleo/Primal, Snacks, Soups & Stews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 5 Uses for Sweet Potato Puree

  1. This is great! Love not only the ‘how-to’ of making the puree, but the suggested uses as well!
    Kenley

  2. The sweet potato recovery bar and chai muffins sounds INSANE. I’ll be whipping both up post mini-cleanse 🙂 Love that the bars include dates (god’s greatest creation). To be honest, I might try making everything one by one. Super big thanks for sharing these gems, Alicia.

    On a technical note, wondering if I could use a high powered (basically commercial) blender to make the sweet potato puree. Otherwise I could try it out with my mini Cuisinart food processor, though it only does 3 cups. Thoughts from experience?

    • Alicia says:

      It’s true, dates are like nature’s candy! But then again, I think sweet potatoes are too.

      I can’t speak from personal experience, but I’ve heard that high-powered blenders like Blendtec or Vitamix can manage quite a lot. The roasted sweet potatoes are also SO soft that if you don’t care about perfectly smooth consistency, you can even mash by hand. The one issue I had with using my old dinky blender (RIP) to attempt puree was the tall container. It might just take some patience and scraping down the sides a few extra times. I also have a mini Cuisinart that can definitely handle the pureeing work, albeit in much smaller batches. Let me know if you try it!

  3. Why do I even read your blog at work? It only causes me sadness that I’m not at home in my kitchen trying all these things out 🙂 They all look so great!

    • Alicia says:

      Haha, aw! I can relate to wondering why I’m not in the kitchen when reading amazing recipes. I hope you get to try some out and let me know what you think!

  4. Pam King says:

    Nice blog! I am impressed with the work you are doing with AmeriCorps. Sounds like you are offering a great service to our country. (I am also in Illinois). Thanks for the link back on the sweet potato recovery bars. It’s a pretty popular recipe. I hope your readers like it, too!

    • Alicia says:

      Thanks Pam! I am so thankful for the opportunity to give back to the community, and I have reaped the benefits too in terms of professional growth in the past two years. AmeriCorps is a wonderful program.

      I originally found your blog through a Crossfit Libertyville member who raved about the sweet potato recovery bars. I think maybe you had brought them to a potluck or a class, and they could not stop talking about them so we had to make them at home! Absolutely delicious.

  5. Pingback: Sweet Potato Brownies |

  6. Pingback: Sweet Potato Brownies | jaybird

  7. Christine says:

    Hi. My sweet potato brownies are in the oven right now! Can’t wait. I used regular WW flour so I hope they still turn out. I wanted to comment that I’ve made my puree with the skins on. I’ve just recently made recipes calling for sweet potatoes in skinned so I figured it would add more nutrients to the puree, right! Thanks for sharing the great recipes!

  8. Pingback: New Recipe on Jaybird: Sweet Potato Waffles |

Comments are closed.