Weekend Reads

t-rex dinosaurs in costume

Saturday morning cartoons as a kid have given way to Saturday morning blogs (and sometimes Youtube videos of puppies). This week I’m sharing some of the best things I’ve read this week. Unfortunately, none of them are patterns for T-rex tuxedo vests, but you can make those with some construction paper and a little imagination.

* If you have a blog, chances are you think blogging is really fun-I do! But there are times when inspiration dries up and you find yourself wondering what could possibly be interesting enough to write about. Gala Darling advises you to step away from the computer and take some unplugged time to explore and engage with life. Love it!

* Talk about inspiration: if you’re on a budget, check out this story about a family of four that lives well on $14,000 a year. Welp, my grocery budget seems frivolous.

*Megan at pink o’clock always finds the most beautiful images to illustrate her posts. I shared her recipe for Two-ingredient Cookies (vegan, GF if you use GF oats, DF) with my coworkers and they have been a huge hit!

* Someone told me awhile ago that I was “too smart” to read Thought Catalog. I’m not sure what that means–yes, some of the stories are silly or self-indulgent and full of early 20s problems (is that a hashtag yet?), but I love the juxtaposition of posts like Self-Loathing 20-Somethings and the Dreams They’re Chasing with writing on emotional vulnerability. Chelsea Fagan writes truth in How We Let People Go:

When you realize, long after the fact, that you no longer care about someone — that what they are doing in life has no bearing on you, and vice versa — it feels very much like a small death. Who they were with you no longer exists, and you cannot even preserve it in your memory, for the sake of your own mental health.

* Raw sauerkraut with roasted jalapeños and garlic is my favorite breakfast condiment, and I just ran out. Time to try making kimchi. Home fermentation is not scary, I promise.

* Recent career exploration has brought two awesome sites to my attention: Brazen Careerist and Career Girl Network. This week, the BC blog published 15 Ways to Describe Yourself in an Interview– responses to the classic this-isn’t-a-question-but-I’m-judging-your-answer prompt “So, tell me about yourself.”

* One of my favorite letters and an exquisite print: Albert Camus and an invincible summer

Have you read, watched, or listened to anything particularly interesting this week? I love discovering new blogs and reading fascinating articles, so please share in the comments!

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Links and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend Reads

  1. I’m literally writing a post right now about the 2 ingredient banana oat cookies! I made them two weeks ago and they are legit to die for. Love that any combination of add-ins works.

    Also, on Thought Catalog, I’m with you on the fluff. I can’t subscribe because there’s so much junk, but Chelsea Fagan is a gem among rubble. I follow her blog and she’s always got insightful and relevant things to contribute.

    Brazen Careerist is such a great resource for us professional ladies. Glad you’re loving it!

    Have a lovely weekend, lady!

    • Alicia says:

      Anything that is delicious, easy, and customizable is a home run in my book! I’m afraid that if I try these cookies, I’ll be making them every night…but I’ve heard such great things from everyone!

      I’m glad to hear you have a similar perspective on Thought Catalog. I should check out Chelsea’s blog since I do enjoy pretty much everything she writes on TC.

      Hope you enjoy a wonderful weekend back in Chicago!

  2. Thank you so much for the mention! I am so glad I found your blog. 🙂 Definitely going to check out the rest of these links!

  3. Great suggestions! And that is my all time FAVORITE Camus quote! 🙂
    Kenley

Comments are closed.