Baked Cocoa Plantain Chips

plantain chips with cocoa and cinnamon

I have to be honest and say that I can’t tell if this picture makes my favorite paleo treat look incredibly delicious or totally unappetizing. Hopefully I’ve built up some credibility and you will believe me when I tell you that these baked plantain chips are SO good. If you haven’t made plantains before, they are a low carb way to enjoy a warm, slightly sweet treat while keeping your meal entirely paleo, primal, and gluten-free. Adding cocoa and cinnamon makes these plantain chips taste into a decadent dessert without the addition of any sugar.

The important thing for this recipe is to select ripe plantains with fully yellow skin and even some brown spots. These are sweeter than green plantains and make a fantastic dessert or snack. I also love that whether I bake quartered plantains or cut them into chips, they are tender and moist like all the best comfort food desserts!

Whether or not the picture draws you in, this easy Paleo treat is the perfect low key dessert to finish a meal. With a hint of cocoa and cinnamon, the chips are luscious on their own and would be the perfect complement to a scoop of ice cream (dairy-free or otherwise). Watch out banana split, coconut ice cream + baked cocoa plantain chips might give you a run for your money!

Baked Cocoa Plantain Chips
Author: Alicia of HumbleFoodie.com
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 12 mins
Total time: 17 mins
Serves: 2 as a snack
A sweet, simple Paleo snack or dessert
Ingredients
  • 1 large, ripe plantain
  • 2 teaspoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • a sprinkle of cinnamon
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven or set toaster oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a small baking sheet with parchment paper. With a sharp knife, cut off both ends of the plantain and discard. Peel the plantain, discard peel, and slice into 1/4″ thick discs.
  2. In a microwave safe bowl, melt coconut oil in the microwave until melted (about 25 seconds). Add cocoa and cinnamon and stir until evenly combined. Toss the plantain chips in the mixture and lay out on the parchment paper.
  3. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until sizzling and fork-tender. The outside of the chips will dry while the inside turns gooey. Let the chips cool for a minute or two, but enjoy them while hot or they will not be as tender.

 

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Desserts, Gluten-Free, Paleo/Primal, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Baked Cocoa Plantain Chips

  1. I’ve been meaning to try cooking with plantains after having them at the Notting Hill carnival in London a few years ago (the food is mainly Caribbean). Coincidentally, Beth posted a similar dessert last week that reminded me of how delicious they were. Thanks for posting this! On the shopping list they go! New foods, for the win!

    Seriously, everything you post I want to make.

    • Alicia says:

      Ooh yum! I’ve had fried plantains at a Caribbean restaurant in the past and they were amazing. Also, plantain chips!

      I’m so flattered that you like the recipes! I always try to pick foods/dishes that are approachable and delicious so I’m glad that they are successful!

  2. Julie says:

    I have to agree with Eileen! I’ve been on a real paleo dessert kick lately, and these will fit in amazingly.

    • Alicia says:

      These definitely fit in with my combined desire for dessert and for doing very little work to make it! I was so tempted to eat them all through my Whole30- they are one of those ingredient-compliant foods that would have been psychologically non-compliant since they are such a treat for me. Now that I’m done, bring on the coconut ice cream!

  3. I can’t wait to try this! It looks really good.

  4. Beth says:

    This is genius! I’ve been loving plantains recently but never thought of using them for dessert!

    • Alicia says:

      Right?! I’ve only ever had them sweet (or at least they taste sweet to me) but I’ve heard some people include them in savory soups and also do salty fried versions.

  5. Pingback: weekend edition // linking up. - leaner by the lake

  6. Heather says:

    Do these hold well or do I have to eat them all at once? I like to make lunches ahead of time so I’m just wondering if I can save them for the whole week? Thanks!

    • Alicia says:

      I think you could save them, but they will be chewy rather than fluffy (not my preference). Instead of being crispy like a dehydrated chip, these are dry on the outside and tender/gooey on the inside when they’re fresh out of the oven. I love the soft inside so I usually eat them in one sitting. If you do make some and save them, please let me know how they turn out!

Comments are closed.