Jalapeño Caramelized Shallots

You know what jalapeños taste good with?

pickled canned jalapeno peppers

Dill pickles. 

breakfast for dinner skillet

Breakfast for dinner.

Pepper blossom cocktails.

You get it. Jalapeños are one of my favorite ways to add heat to just about any dish. For those who don’t love spicy food, removing the seeds and ribs and cooking takes almost all the heat out of these peppers, leaving behind a pleasant taste with a bit more bite than a bell pepper.

If you like to keep things hot, you may just love this twist on a classic side: jalapeño caramelized shallots. Basically, I want to put piles and piles of them on everything from steak to eggs to dirty cauliflower rice stir fries. Check out my simple recipe for pan-seared steak and have yourself a championship dinner tonight.

steak jalapeno caramelized shallots

Jalapeño Caramelized Shallots — Serves 2

2 medium shallots
2 jalapenos
1 tablespoon clarified butter
1/4 teaspoon sea salt

In a medium sautee pan, melt butter over medium-low heat. Slice off the stem end of the jalapeños and discard. Thinly slice shallots and peppers, removing seeds and ribs if desired. Add them to the pan and cook until the shallots start to become translucent. Sprinkle salt over the vegetables and stir to combine. Continue cooking over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until the edges of the vegetables start to turn golden and brown, caramelizing in about more 20 minutes.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Appetizers and Side Dishes, Gluten-Free, Paleo/Primal, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jalapeño Caramelized Shallots

  1. I am with you here! I’m crazzzzy about jalapeno (last night every sushi roll I ordered had it) and find myself putting it on every dish and in every soup or stew that I make. I would LOVE to know more about that canning magic above – I’ve been looking to start pickling cause seriously, EVERYTHING is delicious pickled 🙂

    Side note-I just started using shallots in the last few months and they blew my mind with their flavor. Can’t believe I’d skipped over them for so long.

    • Alicia says:

      Agreed! I’ve never really used shallots, but my roommate had a few leftover from a chicken pot pie she made. I am a huge fan of up-for-grabs veggies, so I thought I’d try something a little stronger than onions to caramelize. So worth it.

      Jalapeno sushi sounds great! I’ll have to try it in some rolls the next time I make it at home. And I would love to share more about canning! I have only done it a few times, but it’s so nice to walk down into the basement and grab a jar of jalapeno pickles or peach butter or whatever and know that a) I made it, b) I know every ingredient that went into it, and c) I preserved something that will taste delicious year-round! I never made good on my intent to write a canning post last summer, so clearly I need to get my butt in gear and do that this year as soon as the farmers’ markets come back.

  2. Wow. (I feel like I start every comment on your blog with “wow”). This is a little bit of a mind-read, because I just bought a carton of jalapenos and was wondering exactly what to do with them. Win.

    • Alicia says:

      I love when something serendipitous like that happens! Hope you love the recipe. It would be delicious with the steak strips you posted the other day- maybe made into tacos using lettuce or coconut flour tortillas. Now I want that…

Comments are closed.