Sick Day Remedies and Comforts

tender at the bone ruth reichlIt’s that time of year again…the Chicago sky refuses to stop snowing, and cold and flu symptoms are everywhere. I thought I would share my favorite remedies and comforts today. Of course, please consult your healthcare provider for actual medical advice–though I find Ruth Reichl’s writing incredibly comforting, I don’t think it counts as a medical remedy.

  • For a sore throat, gargling with apple cider vinegar in warm water does wonders. Everyday Paleo has more suggestions for natural remedies.
  • One of my favorite soothing teas is organic Throat Coat tea from Traditional Medicinals. Brew a cup and settle in on the couch for warmth and relaxation.
  • Remember to spend as much time sleeping or just relaxing in bed as you need–rest and time are great healers. If you can’t fall asleep, pick up a good book! After having Tender at the Bone by Ruth Reichl on my wishlist forever, I finally found a copy at Goodwill. Getting lost in her beautiful descriptions of decadent meals and lively company is a wonderful way to spend a day.
  • Old episodes of the TV show Girls on HBO…because if you are staying in bed all day anyway, Hannah and her friends’ struggles will make you feel better about life.

What are your favorite remedies and comforts when sick? Is there a special meal that always makes you feel better?

 

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Life, Links and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sick Day Remedies and Comforts

  1. Law and Order episodes and tea with honey. Best combo ever 🙂

  2. It certainly is the season of sick!! I feel like I should stock my freezer with plenty of soup “just in case”!!
    Kenley

    • Alicia says:

      That is such a good plan…when I’m sick, I have zero energy to make nourishing food or even make broth. Stocking up in advance is key.

  3. so many thoughts to agree with here! I spent nearly a MONTH in bed this fall with a crazy virus that attacked my system head-to-toe, so i GET ya on remedies. Throat Coat tea has been my savior and such a nice ritual. I’d also recommend a hot toddie or a virgin toddie (when whiskey doesn’t mix so well with antibiotics).

    And hell yes to GIRLS. My boyfriend doesn’t much care for it, but i’m standing by my absolute adoration fo Hannah and the gang. Have you seen Tiny Furniture? It’s like one really long and fantastic GIRLS episode. After seeing that film, I was all “Ohhhh, now I get [Girls]…”

    here’s my favorite combo for hot toddy magic: http://leanerbythelake.com/the-halloweekend-scene/

    plus, a virgin version: http://leanerbythelake.com/out-with-a-sore-throat/

    • Alicia says:

      That virus sounds AWFUL! I am so sorry you had to go through that! But I am definitely looking forward to trying the hot toddy recipe- thanks for sharing!

      I saw Tiny Furniture last year and I actually really disliked it at the time…but what’s funny is that I disliked the movie and main character for pretty much the same reasons that I really like the show Girls. I’m wondering if I would feel differently now! Once I get caught up with Girls I’ll have to go back and watch it again.

  4. Alicia, I meant to mention – when I’m sick I try to cook a soup (the greens and ginger one i posted is great) but, sometimes that just can’t be done. In such cases, I love ordering a chicken noodle soup from my favorite Thai take out places. If you’re in the area I’d highly suggest Penny’s or Thai Armoa. There is something special about a big old container of minced chicken, veggies, and rice noodles in a piping hot broth. Also, the Pho from Duck Walk is absolute magic.

    Feel better, lady!

    • Alicia says:

      Those both sound so delicious right now. Unfortunately I’m out in the burbs so my delivery options are limited, but I should check the menu of the local Thai place and see if they have a similar soup! Thanks for the kind wishes. I’m hoping this will pass ASAP with lots of sleep and tea.

  5. Alicia! How did I not know you’re Chicago-based?! Apple cider vinegar is a miracle worker, and works on heartburn too. I always love to have an eye pillow on hand (the kind filled with flaxseed are great) that can be either warmed or cooled, depending on preference. Also a fan of a big glass half filled with orange juice and half filled with Pelligrino. Arnica gel is also good for massaging away aches, including the temples for headaches.

    • Alicia says:

      I ended up with some juice and mineral water last night and it was a life saver. And yes! I’m north of the city but try to spend as much time in Chicago as I can. Arnica gel is one I wouldn’t have thought of- the only time I’ve seen/used it was when I was in France and my host mom gave it to me to put on a bruise. I will have to find some of that here!

  6. My boyfriend wasn’t feeling well, so I made 2 homemade soups this week! I even made my own broth from scratch, I feel like Martha Stewart lol.

Comments are closed.