Rising with Gratitude

stovetop espresso in the morningHappy Monday!

While it can be hard to jump back into the work week, taking a moment to appreciate the highlights of an amazing weekend helps me savor all the moments of joy from the past two days. I wrote about gratitude lists just after the Christmas holiday. Starting the morning with a brief meditation on the positive allows me to go out into the world and share that positivity.

A gratitude list is not religious, though I do find this type of reflection inherently spiritual and centering. The habit of regularly making a gratitude list–not only on good days, but on bad days when I need some creativity–has helped me feel a sense of purpose and fulfillment even in the midst of uncertainty. My Monday list is after the jump.

whole30 brunch

Brunch on Saturday was the perfect antidote to my issues with repeatedly saying no in social situations during the Whole30. Eight of my sorority sisters (yes, they still matter after college!) came over to catch up over lots of food. When I hear about these women’s personal and professional accomplishments, I can’t help but feel inspired. I am grateful for sisterhood and for colorful fruit salads.

I am grateful for my favorite coffee shop, a cheerful place that must serve productivity in their Americano. The coffee is delicious, and the conversation with insightful friends is even better.

I am thankful for the kindness of strangers, which seems to spring eternal when I least expect it.

I am grateful for the ability to pick up and go running all of the sudden–this would not have happened two years ago! Despite the snow on the ground, my roommate and I went for a run on Saturday: a perfect way to blow off some steam.

Last but never least, I am grateful for jalapenos. They make every breakfast better!

What are you grateful for today? If you share these thoughts on your own blog, I’d love to link up. Please share in the comments.

xoxo Alicia

 

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rising with Gratitude

  1. i’ve been thinking about starting (and my therapist suggested) a journal of one thing each day that is positive or which i am thankful for. i’m actually considering starting a tumblr for this very purpose.

    anyways, today i am thankful for rain-boots and for steamed soy milk & earl grey tea.

    • Alicia says:

      That sounds like a great idea! A Tumblr would be great for sharing snapshots and making it kind of a mixed media journal. Loving my short green rain boots today too.

  2. Conni Stock says:

    Thank you for your post! I am thankful for my homemade cashew cream in my Illy coffee!

  3. Love this idea. I’m grateful for the friends that understand the paleo lifestyle and make it easier for me to make good choices. And blackberries 🙂

    • Alicia says:

      Having a good support system makes it so much easier to prioritize your health- and having someone to share fresh berries with is great too!

  4. I need to do this! A few years ago, a therapist had me doing this but I never stuck with it. Maybe I’ll make it one of my small goals for this month. I have the seemingly impossible-to-break habit of fixating on the negative. Thanks for sharing your list 🙂

    • Alicia says:

      It does take awhile to make a routine of it- it helps to have a little notebook you can take with you anywhere, so there’s no excuse not to pick it up and jot down some thoughts.

  5. Pingback: Mindful Health: Rise with Intention - leaner by the lake

Comments are closed.