Lemony Roasted Brussels Sprouts

lemony roasted brussels sprouts

I don’t remember ever eating brussels sprouts at home as a kid. Though I had my share of fits over being forced to eat spinach and broccoli, these little green sprouts were a mystery. So when I tried “sprouts” at a salad bar and later announced to my grandmother  that I love-love-loved sprouts and they were so good and I really wanted some…she was surprised. Turns out, I’d been crunching away on bean sprouts, and I thought brussels sprouts were pretty disgusting. Luckily my tastes have changed over the years, and now I can barely consider something a meal if it doesn’t have at least one serving of green vegetables.

brussels sprouts stalk

Truth: a love like this knows no bounds/dietary restrictions. #noshame

Brussels sprouts are now a beloved part of my winter meals (evidence: see above). Lemon and good quality sea salt bring out the surprisingly light flavor of this cruciferous vegetable. Stray leaves that fall off while you’re preparing the sprouts will crisp up in the oven and give this dish a delicious crunch. Read on for this simple recipe.

Lemony Roasted Brussels SproutsServes 4
Prep time: 4 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes

16 ounces (1 lb.) brussels sprouts
1 tablespoon melted coconut oil
juice of one lemon (about 1 tablespoon)
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a baking sheet with foil.

Trim the stems of the brussels sprouts and slice in half. In a large bowl, toss sprouts with liquid coconut oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Distribute evenly on baking sheet and roast for 20 minutes, pausing midway through to gently shake the pan so the sprouts will redistribute and cook evenly.

Enjoy!

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Appetizers and Side Dishes, Gluten-Free, Paleo/Primal, Weeknight Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lemony Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. These look wonderful!! Love lemon and love brussels sprouts!
    Kenley

  2. gotasté says:

    I would love to try this recipe really soon. Looks so good! And it’s amazing to see you with that whole branch! I can only get the pre-packed sprouts over here. 🙂

  3. Vanessa says:

    I’m not a huge fan of brussels sprouts but this looks amazing!

    P.S. Come on over to my blog Take only Memories to win an iPad Mini! Good luck 🙂 xx

Comments are closed.