Brown Bag Tuesday: Broiled Salmon and Butternut Squash Risotto

Eating on a budget is anything but boring! Brown Bag Tuesday is a weekly peek into my lunch bag to see that saving time, money, and energy still means getting to enjoy real food. Share this effort and treat yourself to a fabulous lunch from home today!

broiled salmon with butternut squash risotto

This Tuesday’s lunch is broiled salmon with butternut squash risotto. Cooking the salmon in less than 15 minutes makes up for the fact that the risotto took about an hour and a half (worth it)! I’ll share the risotto recipe this Thursday along with the secret ingredient that makes it the perfect fall dish.

frugal simple brown bag lunch

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Brown Bag Tuesday, Frugal Cooking, Gluten-Free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Brown Bag Tuesday: Broiled Salmon and Butternut Squash Risotto

  1. Najma says:

    Can’t wait for the risotto recipe!!!

  2. I also can’t wait for the risotto recipe!! Oh and P.S. I posted the Cranberry-Orange Ginger Chutney recipe 🙂 http://greendoorhospitality.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/holiday-entertaining-cranberry-orange-ginger-chutney/

  3. Wow, that is one fancy and delicious brown bag meal you’ve got there 🙂 It’s making my leftover chicken soup look very dismal in comparison. Looking forward to the risotto recipe, it’s something I’ve never tried but I’m keen to start!

    • I definitely picked a fancy one to share this week, haha. Days like this make up for days when I pull out a sad bag of an apple and three day old breakfast hash leftovers! Risotto was new for me too and I’ve become an addict…it has all the makings of a perfect fall dish.

Comments are closed.