Smoky-Sweet Salad with Dijon Mustard Dressing

My friends make fun of me a lot for my obsession with greens like kale and for my vegetable hoarding tendencies (see our Instagram feed for proof). My collection of squash, onions, avocados, tomatoes, and whatever else I’ve found at the farmer’s market is currently taking up about three square feet of counter space. Thankfully arugula can be hidden away in the crisper so it’s less obvious that I have an absurdly overfilled cornucopia on my hands.

smoky sweet fall salad arugula goudaThis simple salad combines one of my absolute favorite raw greens- baby arugula- with crisp Asian pear, smoked gouda, and the tart sweetness of dried cranberries. I’m not really a dressing person, but I loved the easy combination of quality mustard and olive oil to add warmth and a light kick to the mix.

Smoky-Sweet Salad with Dijon Mustard DressingServes 2
Prep time: 8 minutes

Salad:
2 large handfuls of baby arugula
1.5 oz smoked gouda
1/8 cup dried cranberries
1/2 an Asian pear

Dressing:
1 tablespoon dijon mustard
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
black pepper

Place washed and dried arugula in a medium serving bowl (or two individual salad bowls). Shave or thinly slice gouda, then cut into small wedges. Halve an Asian pear, slice thinly, then slice again into fork-size bites. Add gouda, pear, and cranberry to the salad bowl and toss until combined.

In a small bowl, whisk dijon mustard and olive oil until emulsified. Add pepper to taste.
Add more olive oil if you’d like a more liquid dressing.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Appetizers and Side Dishes, Gluten-Free, Paleo/Primal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smoky-Sweet Salad with Dijon Mustard Dressing

  1. Usually not a big fan of smoked cheeses (or smoked anything really) but I like the idea of pairing it with the sweetness of the pears and the tartness of the cranberries! 🙂

    • I like the peppery arugula with creamy, smoky cheese, but the salad would be fine without dairy too! My stomach does not share my love of cheese but this was a little treat for me. 🙂
      I had never seen Asian pears (aka apple-pears) until I went to college and they were almost the only fruit in the dining hall in late fall/early winter. Enjoy!

  2. I can’t wait to make this dressing!! YUM Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party last week! have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂 I hope that you’ll join us this week! Domata will be sponsoring our party! They will be giving away a box of each of their gluten free products: Recipe Ready Flour, Seasoned Flour, and Pizza Crust Mix. Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

    The party will start at 7 pm tonight (eastern)

Comments are closed.