Brown Bag Tuesday: Smoky Fall Salad & Meatballs

As a way to eat food I enjoy while saving money, I pack a lunch from home to bring to work every day. Bringing lunch from home is a great way to save time, money, and energy. Brown Bag Tuesdays are meant to encourage you to share this effort and treat yourself to a fabulous lunch from home at least once a week.

brown bag revolution smoky sweet fall salad

 

Apple-pears, also known as Asian pears, have been appearing in produce displays left and right. I wanted to make a salad that combined its crisp sweetness with the peppery taste of baby arugula. I took a container of this salad for lunch this week, along with a slightly less attractive container of tomato sauce and meatballs. You might notice that the meatballs have a little something extra–bison liver!

brown bag tuesday meatballs with bison liver

 

I originally broiled these meatballs, then froze them in portions to defrost as needed. They may not be the most “foodie” in appearance, but they were a nutritious, much-needed boost to my day.

Need inspiration for your next lunch? See past lunches here, or share in the comments!
frugal simple brown bag lunch

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Brown Bag Tuesday, Frugal Cooking, Paleo/Primal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brown Bag Tuesday: Smoky Fall Salad & Meatballs

  1. Looks good, and I love the Brown Bag Tuesday series! Also wanted to let you know that I’ve changed the name of my blog. Beyond The Green Door is now Green Door Hospitality! 🙂
    Kenley

  2. This looks awesome! I’m really loving the apple-pear Salad. I definitely have to try this out. 🙂

    • I definitely recommend it! I am going to post the “recipe” (though it’s a simple salad- easy to make and take for lunch) this week. I’d love to hear your thoughts and other ideas!

Comments are closed.