Brown Bag Tuesday: Butternut Cocoa Chili

As a way to eat food I enjoy while saving money, I pack a lunch from home to bring to work every day. Bringing lunch from home is a great way to save time, money, and energy. Brown Bag Tuesdays are meant to encourage you to share this effort and treat yourself to a fabulous lunch from home at least once a week.

How many blog posts can I write in which I rhapsodize about the many wonderful vegetables that fall brings to my meals?

That’s a rhetorical question…my favorite fall vegetables are slightly sweet and easy on the budget, so butternut squash, pumpkin, and root vegetables are going to be all over my plate this season. I suggest you hit the farmer’s market and do the same.

20120930-154605.jpg

I used my slow cooker (Crockpot) to create this tasty butternut cocoa chili. After making Paleo Butternut Squash Lasagna last week, I had some chunks of squash left and didn’t know what to make. My copy of Practical Paleo again proved its worth with a recipe for chili including bison, butternut squash, and cocoa powder. I used what I had on hand to whip this up in the Crockpot with about five minutes of preparation: grass-fed ground beef, canned tomatoes, and plenty of delicious spices. Sitting down to a hot meal provides great comfort in the middle of a bustling work day, so chili was the perfect choice for this week’s Brown Bag Tuesday.

Need inspiration for your next lunch? See past lunches here, or share in the comments!
frugal simple brown bag lunch

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Brown Bag Tuesday, Frugal Cooking, Paleo/Primal, Slow Cooker and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brown Bag Tuesday: Butternut Cocoa Chili

  1. Beth says:

    Hi Alicia!! Guess what…I have ONE DAY left in my Whole30 challenge and it has been amazing! I’m so glad you told me about it…following a Paleo diet has been a great change for me, and I’m going to stick with it (though not quite as strictly after Whole30 ends). Thanks so much for recommending It Starts With Food…life changing!

    • Beth, that is so awesome! I think doing a Whole30 is a great way to get in touch with your body and learn more about how to feel like your best self. Thanks for letting me know! I hope we can exchange some recipes in the future. 😀

Comments are closed.