Month Without Monsanto

Around this time last year, I posted a recipe for a hearty beef stew I made with my friend Jazz when I went to visit her in Milwaukee. Over bowls of steaming stew, she told me about her fledgling windowsill herb garden while I shared what I had learned about the Paleo diet. Sharing a meal often presents the opportunity to learn and grow from conversation. Jazz has been blogging for Digging Deep Campaign for awhile now, and her presence in this online space has provided an accessible, engaging way for me to continue learning about food and sustainability issues.

October 1st marks the first day of a Month Without Monsanto, an initiative started last year by April Davila that later became the Digging Deep Campaign. The goal of the month is to avoid all food that contains GMOs (Genetically Modified Organisms), which appear in 85% of processed foods, and have become ubiquitous in the American diet. Why? Check out these posts for more information:

Getting Started: Four creepy reasons to go #Nonsanto for a month.

Know Your #Nonsanto: Handy graphics with resources on where to look for #Nonsanto seeds for your garden and food for your belly. Annie’s and Organic Valley are two verified Nonsanto food producers.

Difficulty Loves Company: Jazz’s post that really got me thinking about the community as a resource aspect of local foods. She is recruiting Milwaukee-area friends to join her Month Without Monsanto if you’re interested!

Is this little guy hiding a secret about those seedlings?

I have to regretfully admit that I won’t be joining this time around- with no preparation done and travel scheduled for the month, I’m not quite ready to dump my fridge and go 100% #Nonsanto starting tomorrow. But reading about the preparation and experience of people like Jazz and April is inspiring me to start examining the ingredients in my pantry to see just how pervasive GMOs are. I eat very few processed foods and consider my diet pretty healthy, but I have to admit that many of the vegetables I enjoy are likely grown from Monsanto seeds. I’m not sure if I’ll like what I find out when I do the research, but I’m still excited to learn more and start “digging deep” about the food I eat.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Food & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Month Without Monsanto

  1. Love this idea. I’d never heard of it before but I’m going to try to get Hubs on board and go Monsanto-free. With any luck it’ll cut down on our food budget too since we won’t be eating out. P.S I want beef stew for dinner now!

    • Awesome! I would love to see a post from you about how it goes. I was thinking that, while I’m not going to do the month right now, I might do a few related activities and post about them- e.g. researching the contents of my pantry and putting a sticker on each thing that is Monsanto-sourced, etc. This could be part of a shift towards a more GMO free diet in the long run!

    • Jazz says:

      Woooo! Month Without Monsanto! Thanks for the shout out Alicia. Was good to see you the othe day.

Comments are closed.