Brown Bag Tuesday: A Little Help from Practical Paleo

As a way to eat food I enjoy while saving money, I pack a lunch from home to bring to work every day. Bringing lunch from home is a great way to save time, money, and energy. Brown Bag Tuesdays are meant to encourage you to share this effort and treat yourself to a fabulous lunch from home at least once a week.

Over the weekend, I received a package containing a couple books I had ordered. One of them was Practical Paleo, a new book containing page after page of nutritional wisdom and amazing recipes. This week’s simple lunch contained two of her recipes: Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins and Rainbow Red Cabbage Salad.

20120924-154831.jpg

To be honest, I wasn’t sure about the cabbage salad…but it was awesome! I subbed sesame oil into the original recipe and loved the combination of a sweet and tangy dressing on crisp raw vegetables. I’m glad to have tried something new and happy to incorporate more raw vegetbles into my routine. And don’t worry…four muffins came to work with me, but they weren’t all for lunch. I brought in a tin of them for a quick Paleo breakfast to have on hand this week in case I didn’t get the chance to eat at home. The recipes in the book seem approachable- fairly simple and not too time consuming or demanding- but delicious. I’m excited to make savory Zucchini Pancakes and Mediterranean Lamb Roast.

Need inspiration for your next lunch? See past lunches here, or share in the comments!
frugal simple brown bag lunch

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Brown Bag Tuesday, Frugal Cooking, Paleo/Primal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.