Brown Bag Tuesday: The Crockpot Wins Again!

frugal simple brown bag lunchAs a way to eat food I enjoy while saving money, I pack a lunch from home to bring to work every day. Bringing lunch from home is a great way to save time, money, and energy. Brown Bag Tuesdays are meant to encourage you to share this effort and treat yourself to a fabulous lunch from home at least once a week.

brown bag tuesday chicken enchilada soup

I can never get enough avocados!

On Sunday I brined some chicken breasts, meaning to come home and grill after a work event. Five minutes before running out the door, I realized there was a much easier way to deal with the situation: Crockpot! I threw the chicken in my slow cooker, raced to open a can of diced tomatoes, and threw them in there with chopped onion, jalapenos, bell peppers, and vigorous shakes of chili powder, cumin, garlic, and red pepper flakes. By the time my carpool honked, I had the promise of a week’s worth of lunches simmering away in the slow cooker.

For lunch, I packed the tender, shredded chicken with sliced avocado and a little snack container of baby bell peppers. I also made a few containers with torn chard underneath that will steam/boil as I heat things up. Though the picture isn’t the prettiest, this chicken for this lunch took all of 20 minutes and can be turned into many different dishes. Last night, I had chicken “enchiladas” wrapped in chard leaves!

Need inspiration for your next lunch? See past lunches in the Brown Bag Revolution category at Jaybird.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Brown Bag Tuesday, Frugal Cooking, Gluten-Free, Main Dish, Paleo/Primal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.