Spring in Pictures

Wind power on the drive through Indiana

Sometimes I have days, weekends, and weeks where I barely cook at all. With all the travel I’ve been doing recently for work and pleasure, I’ve seen a lot of sights but haven’t spent much time in the kitchen. Instead of posting a recipe today, I have a few snapshots of springtime things that are brightening my days. While I was traveling, I got to catch up with my elementary school friend Claire. I loved sipping tea and catching up in the warm, colorful cafe she manages.

After I got home from a whirlwind week of travel for work, I got to celebrate the birthday of one of my favorite people! I made a flourless chocolate cake that was kind of a mess…there was a frantic phone call to Kerry and her mom, accompanied by a text of “Cake emergency please help call me!” Thankfully what matters more than the look of the cake is how it tastes, and this cake tasted amazing (I think that tends to happen when the ingredients are dark chocolate + butter + eggs + coffee.) We served it with a homemade coconut milk ice cream made with pumpkin, honey, pie spices and cayenne pepper.

Flourless chocolate cake with spicy pumpkin pie coconut milk ice cream

I also made an edible bouquet…

Guess what these roses are made of...

Two dozen bacon roses! They were a nice decoration, but an even better snack and breakfast accompaniment. The next weekend I was traveling again, this time to visit my alma mater. While I watched my friends beat each other up on the rugby pitch, I got to hang out with this gentleman.

Handsome, impeccably behaved, and a total chick-magnet.

It was wonderful to spend a few days this spring driving through the Midwest and New England, but I’m happy to be settling back in chez moi. My seedlings are blooming, spring storms are giving way to warmth, and I’m starting a Whole30 today (see the new link on our top navigation bar.) The only thing that would improve these moments would be if I could watch them from a porch swing like this one!

My house would be infinitely improved by a garden full of tulips and a porch with a swing.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.