Vegetarian Paella

As you may know, a goal of mine is to eat more veggies! Even though I am not a vegetarian, I eat very little meat.  On my Christmas list this year, I asked Santa for a subscription for Vegetarian Times magazine.

I figured it would give me some great meatless options that are still yummy and flavorful.  I finally received my first one in the mail, and the cover dish looked so colorful and delicious and I couldn’t resist making it soon! It is called Paella Primavera.  Paella is a Spanish rice with veggies, spices, and sometimes meat.

Ingredients

Olive oil
3 cups broccoli florets
3 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. saffron threads
1 cup rice
1 cup frozen peas
1 cup cherry tomatoes
1 lemon
1/4 cup parsley
Optional add ins-6 green onions, 12 green olives, 12 black olives

Directions
Although a paella pan is usually used to cook this dish, I simply used a large pot.  Begin by cooking broccoli and red pepper in oil.

Then, mix in broth, garlic, and saffron and bring to a boil.  Mix in rice and simmer for 10 minutes.  Add in peas and tomatoes and cook covered for 8 minutes.

Remove from heat and continue to sit for 5 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper, parsley, and a lemon wedge.

Adapted from Vegetarian Times.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Appetizers and Side Dishes, Kerry, Main Dish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.