Vegetable Frittata

Now that I’m used to cooking for myself, I’ve grown to appreciate any recipe that lets me cook once, then eat many times throughout the week. The initial time it takes to prepare something like a roast or a huge pot of yassa poulet (recipe coming soon) is well worth it if it means I can eat with no work for the rest of the week. Since breakfast is the most important meal of the day, I appreciate a breakfast dish that I can stretch the same way. Frittata is a great way to use up leftover vegetables you may have sitting around, and it reheats well for breakfast or snacks a few days after cooking.


I used mushrooms, spinach, red onion, and chevre (creamy goat cheese) in my frittata, but you can mix it up. Make it paleo/dairy-free by taking out the cheese, or add hot Italian sausage for a kick!

Vegetable FrittataServes 4

4 oz. cremini mushrooms, thinly sliced
1/2 one red onion, diced
1 cup packed spinach, chopped
2 oz. chevre
1 tablespoon coconut oil or butter
8 eggs
freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In an oven-safe skillet (cast iron works well), heat 1/2 tablespoon of oil or butter over medium heat. Sautee mushrooms, onion, and spinach for about three minutes or until they have softened. Remove the vegetables from the skillet and set aside.

Whisk eggs in a medium-sized mixing bowl, then mix in vegetables. Heat another 1/2 tablespoon of oil or butter in the skillet over medium-low heat. Pour the egg and vegetable mixture into the skillet, then crumble pieces of chevre throughout the frittata. Cook on the stovetop for 4-5 minutes.

Move the skillet to the preheated oven and bake for 10-12 minutes. The finished frittata will be firm but will spring back when pressed with the back of a fork. Sprinkle black pepper on top and serve.

Source: adapted from Make It Paleo by Bill Staley and Hayley Mason

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Breakfast, Gluten-Free, Paleo/Primal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegetable Frittata

  1. I tried making a frittata once, but I wanted it to be creamy so I added milk like you can do with a quiche, because I figured the eggy consistency would give me the same result. I notice that you don’t have milk in your recipe, which is probably good as the milk just sort of congealed into these awful white splotches. It looked like my frittata had some weird new form of botulism. Anyways, is there a possibility that you know why my meal looked diseased? Or can you suggest something to use instead of milk? Thanks!

  2. Very creative description of the diseased frittata, haha! I have used a small amount of coconut milk (about 3 tablespoons) in this frittata. I whisk it in with the eggs and have not had any weird blotching. I’ve also made a quiche with no crust (like you said, basically a creamier frittata) with success using four eggs and 2/3 cup cream or whole milk. The recipe is here: https://thehumblefoodie.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/breakfast-of-champions-quiche/

    I hope you have better luck next time!
    Alicia

  3. Pingback: the day i fell in love with my CSA. - leaner by the lake

Comments are closed.