Marinated Portobello Mushrooms

Portobello mushrooms are one of my favorite foods to grill in the summer time (the other favorites being meat, more meat, and peaches). Their dense texture holds up well on the grill and makes a great burger option for vegetarians, but even omnivores can enjoy some well-marinated mushrooms as a main course or a side. I’ve adapted this grill recipe for the broiler if you are stuck indoors this season; just take it back outside over the summer to enjoy on the grill.

Marinated Portobello MushroomsServes 4

4 portobello mushroom caps
scant ¼ cup balsamic vinegar*
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon minced garlic
salt and pepper to taste

Thoroughly rinse mushroom caps and place them, smooth side up, in a shallow baking dish. Whisk all other ingredients together in a small bowl, then pour over the mushrooms. Let them marinate at room temperature for 20 minutes, turning once in the process.

Place mushrooms smooth side up on a foil-lined baking sheet. Broil on high on the lower rack of the oven for four minutes. Remove from oven, flip the mushrooms, and broil for four more minutes.

Enjoy mushrooms whole, on a burger or a lettuce wrap, or cut up over greens. I used the full recipe, mixed with steamed chard, to add to lunches for the week.

Source: Adapted from AllRecipes.com

Steamed Chard, Portobello Strips, and Leftover Taco Meat

*A scant measurement is a little less than the full amount. So, a scant ¼ cup would be a little bit less than a full quarter cup.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Alicia, Appetizers and Side Dishes, Gluten-Free, Paleo/Primal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marinated Portobello Mushrooms

  1. Dara says:

    I made this recipe with a few slight changes. It turned out really good but I think it could have been better if I had used the actual recipe. First, I used small white mushrooms instead of portobellos (I bought them before I saw the recipe), and did not slice them (they could have been better sliced). Second, I don’t have American measurements so I just eye-balled for the vinegar and I think I used too much. Third, I don’t have a real oven, just one of those large toaster ovens so I don’t think there is a broil setting. Forth, used garlic power instead of garlic and fifth, I did not have basil.

    All of that being said, it still turned out quite tasty. I paired it with a couscous and chick pea dish (with lots of cumin and other spices) with stir-fried zucchini and some vegetable that looks like Swiss chard (they call it something like beet leaves).

    Thanks for the recipe!!!

    Oh, and we’re going to get a grill for out balcony once it’s warmer out so I’ll try it with portobellos on the grill next time.

    • Hi Dara! I’m so glad you tried it. I can see this dish being really good with smaller mushrooms broiled/baked in a toaster oven, especially when you are mixing the mushrooms with couscous, chick peas, zucc and beet greens (my favorite!)

Comments are closed.