Strawbery Banana Smoothie

Although Jamba Juice and Smoothie King offer delicious fruity treats, they can be a pricey snack.  Making my own smoothies always intimated me. I thought there was no way to possibly make one to my smoothie chain shop standards.  Luckily, two things happened to me.  1. I tasted Greek yogurt for the first time.  2. I experimented with some ingredients and created a recipe that is both healthy and yummy.  So Greek yogurt…this seems to be an increasing trend and I always wondered why.  PLAIN yogurt? I had a similar surprised reaction.  Mixing plain yogurt with fruit, however, makes it less daunting.  By using plain yogurt instead of a flavor, you majorly cut down on the amount of added sugar and increase the protein! Although I may never be able to eat plain yogurt with nothing mixed in, it’s a perfect ingredient for a smoothie.

Strawberry Banana Smoothie- Makes 1 tall glass

1 banana, sliced

4 large strawberries, sliced

4 heaping spoonfuls of plain Greek yogurt (if plain yogurt is too tart, use strawberry yogurt instead)

1/4 cup orange juice

Slice banana and strawberries.  In a blender, mix all ingredients.    Pulse mixture until thick and smooth. Enjoy after a workout, before a busy day, or for a sweet snack.

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Drinks, Kerry, Snacks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.