CPT Panini and Baked Asparagus

What is a CPT Panini you may be wondering.  A close cousin of the BLT, this panini has a little something extra.  Yes, yes tomato and cheese is no new combination.  We’ve all tasted the classic pizza.  Paninis though aren’t so common.  What makes a panini different than a sandwich is how it’s grilled.  Even without a panini maker, this is easy to make! Pair it with some asparagus, and you have a savory yet sweet meal.

When I was out to lunch recently, I ordered a chicken panini off the menu.  As I heard this restaurant put a spin on American food, I was intrigued when I read that this sandwich was paired with a tomato chutney.  What is tomato chutney you may ask? I wish I could tell you.  It’s one of those things you don’t really care to know because it is so unique and flavorful. Partnered with the other toppings, it added a sweet flavor with a hint of spice. I wanted to replicate this recipe and was thinking about if I could make a tomato chutney when I laid my eyes on just that! I was recently shopping at Standard Market, a small special grocer in Westmont and spotted it.  Standard Market is a similar to Trader Joe’s with a wide selection of fresh produce, meats, cheeses, and wine. Check it out! Now let’s talk food…

CPT Panini-Makes 1 panini

1 Chicken breast, sliced
2 slices of fresh bread
2 tablespoons of Pesto
2 tablespoons of tomato chutney
2 slices of provolone Cheese
2 tablespoons of butter

Begin by cutting the chicken into strips.  I prefer slices of chicken on the panini as it is easier to keep together in the sandwich.  Cook the chicken in a skillet with a touch of oil.  This should take about five minutes.

While the chicken is cooking, prepare your panini.  On one side, spread the pesto and top with one slice of cheese.  When the chicken is cooked, place the strips on top.  Top with another slice of cheese.  Before adding on the second slice of bread, spread your tomato chutney on it.


Put your pieces together, and you are ready to turn this sandwich into a panini! In a clean skillet, let 2 tablespoons of butter melt.  On low-medium heat, grill the panini, flipping every few minutes.

As a side, I baked asparagus!  As I mentioned in our New Year’s Post, asparagus is such a delicious vegetable that, for some reason, has intimidated me for years.  What I didn’t know is simply baking this with a few ingredients is all you need!

Baked Asparagus- 3 servings

1 batch of asparagus
4 tablespoons of oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Pour a fair amount of oil to cover the asparagus (4 tablespoons)  Then, sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.  Bake for 6-8 minutes.

Bon appetit!

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Appetizers and Side Dishes, Kerry, Main Dish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CPT Panini and Baked Asparagus

  1. Maija says:

    Beautiful! Is there tomato chutney at TJs?

  2. Pingback: Five Foods I’m Totally Crushing On | The Humble Foodie

Comments are closed.