Your Simple Salad

My perfect salad

Hi, I’m Devin. I am a champion eater. The problem is that cooking confuses me and also scares me a little bit. Luckily, I have wonderful friends like Kerry and Alicia who are teaching me to be less afraid. In the meantime, I am going to share some of my secrets for those who sweat profusely when presented with a stove. First up, my kick-butt, super-healthy, crazy-simple formula for YOUR personal perfect salad (and why I believe you should always splurge on cheese).

Your Perfect Salad

Super Spinach!

Step 1: Pick your base. My go-to green is spinach, and I highly recommend it. Spinach is  a super food, which means it’s insanely healthy and good for you. It also goes well with almost anything and you’re eating something more substantial than water-loaded iceberg lettuce. Mixed greens are another great option. I usually keep a tupperware of already washed spinach in my fridge so I can just grab a handful and throw it in a bowl. Remember, the easier, the better.

Step 2: Get cheesy. A lot of people think that cheese is fattening and, if you’re buying the

Magic Cheese

wrong stuff, those people are right. However, it should be noted that cheese is an incredible source of protein and deliciousness. This brings me to one of my main food beliefs: always splurge on cheese. My personal favorite is goat cheese, but feta, blue, Parmesan or anything that crumbles works. Keep this near your spinach tupperware in your fridge.

Sesame Ginger Yum!

Step 3: Get dressed up. I think there is a tendency to pick your dressing last when putting together a salad. This is wrong. You want to feel freedom to choose a dressing that you love, and limiting yourself as little as possible will make you a happier salad consumer. My pick is Sesame Ginger from Litehouse, but you are free to play around with whatever you want.

Step 4: Extra, extra. For me, the first 3 steps make a pretty solid salad. I don’t spend a lot of energy trying to find other stuff to put in my salads, but then again, I’m a purist. So this is the part where you can throw whatever happens to be in your fridge into your salad.

Step 5: Eat that thing! Enjoy your creation!

About Humble Foodie

While we both love to eat well, life as AmeriCorps volunteers doesn’t afford us the budget to try every new restaurant and type of cuisine. With many post-graduate expenses and limited financial resources, what’s a foodie to do? The answer is here, at The Humble Foodie. Instead of spending our hard-earned cash paying other people to cook for us, we’re spending as frugally as possible making delicious meals at home.
This entry was posted in Main Dish, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.